Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My brand new Bonnie Black got some rain on her and now she won't start. I tried to start her last night (just to listen) but i thought I flooded her and wore the battery down trying. Recharged the battery last night and tried starting her again just now. Nothing. Not even a sputter? Could the ignition be wet? Please excuse my ignoranc...I'm new at this..... :???:

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
The two things that got me when I first had the Bonneville were the ignition kill switch and the fuel petcock. Both are stupid mistakes that are easy to make. I felt like an idiot afterwards, of course, but at least they were easy fixes. :) (Also, Bonnies are notoriously cold-blooded, so make sure you've got the choke knob pulled all the way out. Do not give it any throttle when starting, just choke.)

If neither of those is the culprit, it's probably your sidestand sensor. Make sure the bike's in neutral when you're trying to start. Try sitting on the bike and putting the sidestand up.

--mark

[ This message was edited by: markbvt on 2006-12-01 15:00 ]

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
Try opening the gas tank cap to equalize pressure inside the tank -- sometimes the overflow tubes get clogged. If that doesn't solve it, pull one of the sparkplugs and crank the bike over to see if you're getting spark (hold it so you don't shock yourself, with the metal side of the plug against part of the engine for grounding -- watch for spark in the gap at the tip).

--mark

[ This message was edited by: markbvt on 2006-12-01 16:00 ]

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh, I am a dumbass. Turns out I was low on fuel. I guess the dealer hadn't completely filled the tank when I picked her up cause i needed to go to reserve after only 160k (100 miles). I just took her out now to get some gas. Friggin' cold out but the ride was great!!

·
Registered
3,371 Posts