Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

First time posting here. I’m an absolute beginner in the triumph world and need your help!

I wanted to ask you guys about something I heard about the Bonneville t100 that might make me go for a different bike if it’s true..
I want to buy the t100 to ride exclusively around the city, go to work and back home, go to the gym, take my wife to dinner, etc, do all the stuff I usually do on my day to day, ride about 10 miles per day I guess. At the moment I’m not considering going for any weekend rides (perhaps I will in the future though). So, my question is: do you guys think the t100 is too much of a bike for city riding only?

I’ve heard somebody saying that I wouldn’t be using the 900cc engine properly because it was designed for long and high speed rides and might cause some issues in the long run. He also said the engine wouldn’t even have time to rise to a decent temperature if I’m only doing short rides. And that I’ll need to go for long rides in the weekends in order to make the engine run as it’s required.

Any comments about this would be really appreciated since I’m an absolute newbie on this subject and I’m not able to find info online. I feel that if I go to a dealer with this question they would quickly say it’s BS because they’d just want me to buy the bike!

Thanks so much in advance everybody

·
Registered
294 Posts
I think you're a real candidate for an electric motorcycle.
Apart from looks that is ;)

Or a cheap light (retro) bike.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I have the T100 too.
I mainly use it for short rides here in the alps and into the village.
I have no problems taking it for a 6 hr ride on the weekend with my wife on the back.
It is a great bike with plenty of power for longer rides and nimble in town.
It is a cool bike and is easy to ride and versatile.
Dont take advice from people who speculate.

·
Registered
219 Posts