Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All.
I have been riding motorcycles for 20 years. Namely....a 1975 Honda CB-750 Super Sport & a 1980 Honda CB-900 Custom. Both inline 4 cylinder keihin carbed bikes. I just purchased about a month ago a Triumph 1999 900 Adventurer. I had been looking at these "new" triumph triples since 1994 when they were being brought back into the market in North America. I was at the time not able to afford a new bike. So I have been waiting for this generation of bikes to become older and come into my price range. So now I am the proud owner of one and am somewhat frustrated by the experience. The bike is beautiful, and I love it......but I cannot get it to run in the manner I am used to with both of my Honda's. It idles fine. But upon acceleration....at around 2000-2500 rpms it stumbles........seems to like to be run up around 3000 and beyond. Not sure if this is a characteristic of these bikes or not. But upon reading countless posts........I am becoming disheartened at how much screwing around with these bikes everyone seems to be doing. Both my Honda's ran flawlessly. Idle to hard acceleration..........to doing over 100 mph. These are 35 and 30 year old bikes. I buy an 11 year old bike......and it can't claim the same. Furthermore.......I read post after post of people changing jets....airbox arrangements, shimming needles, replacing coils/ignitors.........what is up with this????