Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It belonged to the grandfather of a new neighbor of mine. He invited me over to a poker game in his garage with his dad and a few friends. When his dad found out that I own a 2001 Bonneville and ride quite a lot, he mentioned that he had his father's '83 T140 TSX in his barn, where it had been sitting for the last 35 years. I've been dreaming of stumbling across a barnfind for YEARS, but they're always too far gone or way too expensive - so imagine the shock when he said I could, just, like... HAVE it. For free.

The carburetors, side covers and front fender came with it, removed by my neighbor's dad last year when he tried to get it running. He quickly gave up on it after finding out how hard to find parts for these Bing carbs can be.

This is my first time with a vintage Triumph. The next few weeks will show how much work I have ahead of me as I strip it down, clean and organize parts, and see what's missing or needs to be replaced.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Ill put this link in my TSX thread as well however i just uploaded my BING file to media fire so you and whomever else wants can review and enjoy.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have all the bing carb info you'll ever need so long as you have good shells
The carbs are in incredible shape with the exception of the springs on the outside. All 4 of them are rusted, and 1 is broken. I have a lot to learn about what each part is called and what it does - these are a far cry from the Mikuni carbs on my '01 Bonneville. There are 3 screws and a gasket missing from a piece that attaches with 4 screws and a spring (which is the broken one) to the side of one of the carbs. The other one was fully assembled, and the springs were there but very rusty. All of the rubber hose is rock-hard, as would be expected.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #5