Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been biking for a few years but traded in bikes before I needed to replace tires. Now on my Tiger 1050, I finally need to. I wont be doing it myself as don't have the tools or workshop, will be getting it done at my local garage.

So what is the general opinion on replacement tyres? Do people just go with whatever generic no-name tyres the garage gets in? Go for a particular brand? Is it worth paying a bit extra and if so, how much? I mainly ride on roads with the very occasional bit of rough track / gravel.

Any advice welcome! :D

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
I've been biking for a few years but traded in bikes before I needed to replace tires. Now on my Tiger 1050, I finally need to. I wont be doing it myself as don't have the tools or workshop, will be getting it done at my local garage.

So what is the general opinion on replacement tyres? Do people just go with whatever generic no-name tyres the garage gets in? Go for a particular brand? Is it worth paying a bit extra and if so, how much? I mainly ride on roads with the very occasional bit of rough track / gravel.

Any advice welcome! :D
Are you looking at a street tyre or dual purpose tyre? I never buy cheap tires, only name brands and for the road, I get Michelin Pilot Road 4. I tend to pick sport touring tyres to get better mileage out of them. I also do a bit of two up riding and sticky sport tyres do not last long when two arses are on them.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you looking at a street tyre or dual purpose tyre? I never buy cheap tires, only name brands and for the road, I get Michelin Pilot Road 4. I tend to pick sport touring tyres to get better mileage out of them. I also do a bit of two up riding and sticky sport tyres do not last long when two arses are on them.