Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the last 30 years or so I have kept my high beam on during daytime riding as a way to increase my visibility to car and truck drivers. But after my wife harrangued me about how annoying she found it to have a motorcycle riding behind her car with its high beam on, I am thinking of switching to using the low beam, but with a headlight modulator. But then my wife said that when she sees a modulating headlight coming toward her it causes her to almost fixate on it, so I wondered if using this device might actually end up making me more, rather than less likely to get hit by a car. Any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
42 Posts
With more and more cars having daytime running lights, I think just having highbeams on doesn't cut it anymore.

I've been using a headlight modulator for almost a 6 months now and love it. It is annoying, but definitely gets you noticed. The only close calls I've had recently are when the modulator was off because there wasn't enough daylight early in the morning or late afternoon.

Knowing how annoying it is, I do turn the modulator off if I'm at a stop light for a while or can't pass a cager for whatever reason.

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
Any thoughts on this?
Vito, I do understand the desire to be seen when on a motorcycle. I tend to agree with your wife.