Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am wondering if anyone commutes here? i am sure some do but i am looking for a bike that will do 20k per year with no problems. is the st the bike? i am hoping so because i like the whole package from the outside. i am an all weather rider in the sf bay area. so i split lane through the angry car drivers into the city every day. also what kind of mpg does this bike get? any used years to avoid?

thanks

d

·
Premium Member
16,670 Posts
I commute on my '04 RS, or I did when I still had a job. :p

Mileage in city traffic is awful, but that's what happens when you run your motor at stoplights. I got about 25MPG before I started playing with the TuneBoy, closer to 20 after.

I'm an all but snow & ice rider in NYC. The 2 major failures I've had were unrelated to mileage. I replaced the motor at 24k miles due to an object on the road tearing a hole in the sump, and I replace the swingarm at 32k due to the threads in the eccentric clamp stripping. I believe the original owner probably damaged those threads, as they've been an issue for me before & there was something weird about them when they stripped, almost as if they were made of JB Weld.

I can see that, on paper, a Kawasaki Versys or something like that is probably a better city bike. I don't care. I'll keep my Sprint.

Cheers,
-Kit

·
Registered
938 Posts