Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!
I'm a newbie from Milwaukee WI and I have a 99 Adventurer. I'd wanted a bike for about the past 10 years or so, and I finally got one- and a Triumph, no less! I was able to put on about 2000 miles before the first snow, and now it's sitting in my garage. Instead of riding, I am relegated to sitting here and thinking about what can be done for next season.
I've been reading many posts about the bike I have, and I'm becoming a bit more aware of it's strengths and weaknesses. I lack experience on other bikes, and I'm wondering, can my bike be used for touring? (I'm talking about trips of 1500 miles or less). This may be a terribly naive question, but I figure that this is the best place to find someone else who has cabin fever and wants to talk about this...

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,934 Posts
Engine guards with footpegs so you can stretch out those legs. I have a set of Engine Guards from Ma's Cycles with some cheapo clamp on footpegs.

A windshield. I was never one for the look, but keeping the wind off you lets you ride alot longer without getting beat up. You can also handle colder weather. At Toller's recommendation I bought a National Cycle Plexistar 2.

Maybe Toller with chime in here, I believe he rigged up an Auxilliary Tank.

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
Sure, the bike will go touring, but will you go with it? I ride all over on my Bonneville and take a break when I feel the need.
Get on it and GO - whoosh!

·
Registered
61 Posts
Wind shields suck-at night or in the rain. Can't seem through them if they're high and if they're set up right (top of screen level with mouth) you get a nasty bit of turbulence on your head at higher speeds. Pootling along at 60 is fine, though. Unless it rains or the Sun goes in.