Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

ancient racer with a Sprint

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  ancient racer 
#1 ·
Site newbie here. I finally found you all and hope the site will be as good as it seems to be so far. I live in
Western Washington State USA on the Olympic Peninsula. I've had my 1996 Sprint since 1999; bought it
from a guy in Phoenix who bought it new in New York. It only had 8K miles on it then...it's got 59K now and
still runs great and never fails to make me smile inside my Shoei. I'm lucky to have many good 2lane roads
out here, without much traffic nor stop signs or traffic lights, so "Ruby" (she's a Candy Apple Red Sprint--the
fastest color...) and I just GO! 300 mile days happen often. I'm 72 now and retired, former teacher/carpenter
and ex-AFM club racer in California in the mid-1970's. Quit racing after a nasty high-side in turn 10 at Sears
Point in May 1976...long story...
Anyhow, Hello to all Triumph riders! See you on the road sometime....

#3 ·
Hello ancient racer! Thank you for introducing yourself. We’re really glad you joined! You are a Triumph veteran for sure; very respectable mileage on your Sprint. Can we see a picture of it? I have a soft spot for '96 Triumphs as my first was a Trophy 1200.

I hope you find this site to be a great place to meet and talk with a great bunch of riders about Triumph bikes. Everyone here is very willing to help with questions or problems with your bike(s). I have personally saved lots of time and money thanks to the skilled help I have received from members.

Please post your questions in the sections related to your bike’s model. Most of the time you will get quick, informed responses.