Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

Which America?

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I am new to the cruising life and trying to decide on a starter bike. I am really hooked on the America and I am trying to decide on the 2007 model (new on sale) or the new 2009 model. Is the new 2009 worth an extra $1800?

Any feedback would be welcome.

Thanks

·
Registered
130 Posts
Good morning,

Welcome to the world of Triumph Motorcycles. Your choice of the America is a good one. The motor is bullet proof and develops great real world power.

As far as chosing between the two models, I would suggest you spend the extra money and buy the 09', especially if it has fuel injection, which I can't remember if it does or not. I think it does but check with someone more knowledgable than myself. All I know is that my own Triumph is fuel injected and it makes everything so much easier, reliable and it gets better gas mileage too! Sounds like it's worth the extra money to me.

·
Premium Member
425 Posts
If you plan on keeping the bike for about 5 years then I would take the '07 and save the $1,800 (or blow it on accessories). If you think you might sell it in a year or two then I'd go for the '09. You'll get back your $1800 or more when you sell the '09.

Either way you end up with a great bike.

·
Registered
15 Posts
fuel injected

the 09 is fuel injected and produces a couple more hp , a little less maint. and 2 years of warranty , I have a 2007 it's a great bike , it also was the last year for the tapered tank ( at knees ) and the black and sunset red plus 1800 you can spend on goodies , it's a tough choice either way you can't lose.....g.e.

·
Registered
246 Posts
I would go for the looks of an 09 get the less computerized 07 and just get an 08 then you will have the best of both worlds . Just oppinion though

·
Registered
3 Posts