Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I have an inferiority complex about my riding skills. I've been riding for about 8 years and gradually worked my way up to a Street Triple. However, my tires are about shot and I'd say there's a strip about an inch wide on each side of the Pirelli Rosso Corsas that has not touched the road. Is this is sign that I'm not leaning far enough or is this difficult to achieve when only riding on the streets? I see my dad's sport touring tires are used completely side to side and I always feel like I'm keeping up when I ride with him. I seek out some pretty curvy roads and I just have this feeling that I'm not pushing the bike into curves as far as I could/should.

In case you're wondering, I've never done a track day (nor do I plan on it) and I've never taken a class. I want to get better or at least feel more confident but it's tough when I ride mostly on my own.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Read proficient motorcycling by david hough.
Thanks for the suggestion, that looks right along the lines of what I need. I get Motorcyclist magazine and they have a pretty good column every month, but once a month isn't enough and sometimes they're too technical.

·
Premium Member
7,030 Posts
Chicken strips (or lack of) are overrated. I have seen some people with no chicken strips who ride slower round corners than other riders whose tyres don't always wear that far.

I personally think being safe, competent with good judgement and confidence are what make a good rider, not lack of chicken strips.

Riders who lean away from the bike and push it down dirt bike style may have no chicken strips but aren't riding well.

If you want to be good at sports you get a good coach and train.

If you want to be good at riding, do practical training with people who know their stuff.