Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I think this would look good on a speedy, Can is made for a Gsxr-1000. It's on ebay for $280. Does anybody know if it'd be possible? Cheapster, you gotta let Devi out of your garage for a sec so he can chime in. :-D

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
Anything is possible with the right tuning. I'm no exhaust expert, but I imagine the GSXR1000 pushes a lot more exhaust than the S3. So, that pipe might not produce enough backpressure to keep the torque up. I'd be interested in looking at the inside of a Zard, though. Maybe I could make my own undertail exhaust using something that small like a supertrapp...

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
Wait a minute, M4 makes a pipe for the S3. Are you just wanting to see if that cheap GSXR pipe is moddable to save money?

"M4’s GP Style slip-on exhaust is constructed of aluminum with an internal baffle, coned end cap, heat resistant black finish and is designed to work with the stock muffler located under the belly pan with no modification. "

Anyone know if the GSXRs have a muffler like the R6 and R1? If so, that M4 pipe is just for looks and sound, not backpressure and power.

[ This message was edited by: kuhlka on 2006-12-05 00:00 ]

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
I think that would pretty good, T-R. I dont like the logo though. I would want to mount it upside down, which wouldn't be a problem, as you would have to put a new mounting bracket anyway.

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I know that M4 makes one for our bike, but the more I see it th emore i think it looks like it just doesn't belong. And as far as price goes, the cheaper the better!