Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I’d post how I mounted my aftermarket tach on my Bonneville for those interested. I was extremely pleased with the results, plus I know how fast the motor is turning over now. :-D

Here is a picture of the final mounted tach:



This is the same tach others have used before. I built the bracket out of 2mm aluminum I had laying around, using only a jigsaw, a cordless drill, and some time. The bracket uses the stock nuts that hold the speedometer in place to hold the tach. This works out well since the speedo has some vibration dampening due to the rubber surround, so the tach gets dampening too, plus the tach can be easily removed.

(Be careful if you remove the cap nuts on the back of the speedo as there are washers, why???, on both sides of the plastic cup on the back, you’ll have to take the speedo off completely to get these washers back on the inside of the cup – ask me how I know! Hold the speedo cup in place if you remove the nuts!)

Here is the bracket off the bike:



I also added a quick connect 3-pin deans connector inside the headlight housing so I could unplug the tach if need be. I soldered the blue and red wires from the tach together at the plug (see pic) – so only three wires need to be soldered in the instrument cluster connector in the headlight housing.

Quick disconnect:



-Green wire on tach connects to red wire (tach signal) on connector (3rd from left in photo)
-Red & Blue wires on tach both connect to red wire with blue stripe (instrument power) on connector (4th from left in photo)
-Black wire on tach connects to Black wire with short silver stripes (instrument power ground) (top left in photo)

These wires are all in the same row on the connector and can be removed from the connector to solder the extra tach wires in – makes for very clean installation. I don’t have a picture of the finished wiring at the instrument connector, but the tach wire is small enough to fit together with the existing wires in each of the three metal connectors.

Instrument harness connector:




This is a great addition to those with standard/black bonnies that are not ready to fork over the cash for the accessory tach. This install, to me at least, almost looks like it came from hinkley like this.

LS1

[ This message was edited by: LS1 on 2007-01-09 20:30 ]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,524 Posts
LS1
very nice job, It sure beats $360.00 bucks for the other
set ups out there.
Here is a pic of mine I did last year for $50.00



I have replaced the nuts on the bottom with s.s. acorn nuts
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Thanks Gentlemen for your info .Tacho fitted all is great. wiring up proved to be just as described .Life is easy with this site. Happy bonnie owner. RR :hammer: :hammer:
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
sorry, traduced by Goggle :)

I mounted a aftermarket tach on my Bonneville, but I have a problem !!

After I connect the Tacho, my bonnie consumes much gasoline and I can see that fails explosions at low revolutions.

If I disconnect green wire (tach signal) all returns Ok.
(then,
evidently the tachometer does not work)

note: I have had to pass a wire from the coil because 2001 bonneville haven't got a tacho signal in connector (red wire).

Can somebody help me?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,218 Posts
Very nice job LS1! You said the pins come out of the plug. Do they just snap in and out, or is there some type of locking mechanism in the plug. I would think something has to keep the pins in the plug when you push the two together. I'd like to do something neater in the headlight bucket if I take my tach and speedo off. The speedo has a few more wires to deal with because of the idiot lights and the diodes for the turn signals. Very slick bracket.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,282 Posts
Benjamua, I can send you a scan of the factory tachometer kit installation instructions, with clear diagrams, if you give me an e-mail address that can take large file attachments. This might help you figure out what you need to do.

[edit] PS Where is Tarragona?

[ This message was edited by: Baltobonneville on 2007-04-24 16:28 ]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
909 Posts
Great write-up LS1. :upthumb:


On 2007-04-24 10:08, Benjamua wrote:
sorry, traduced by Goggle :)

I mounted a aftermarket tach on my Bonneville, but I have a problem !!

After I connect the Tacho, my bonnie consumes much gasoline and I can see that fails explosions at low revolutions.

If I disconnect green wire (tach signal) all returns Ok.
(then,
evidently the tachometer does not work)

note: I have had to pass a wire from the coil because 2001 bonneville haven't got a tacho signal in connector (red wire).

Can somebody help me?
Benjamua,

Welcome.
You can find a copy of the Triumph tachometer fitting manual which Marty mentioned in the "Instruments, Lights, Mirrors & Controls - Zap" section of the Mod Links page - HERE.
:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,218 Posts
I also ran a wire from my coil (the negative side), for the signal wire. I have a 2002 but I just gave up looking for the signal wire and went the easy route. Not sure if this may be a problem, and I don't know what kind of tach you have, but some may need an adapter. There are single fire and dual fire ignition syatems, not sure what we have, but the tach I have I believe works for a Harley Twin and I have no adapter and it works fine. Steady as ever, until I hit the rev limiter.
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Tarragona - Catalonia - Spain - Europe

Thanks, I'm looking this link. http://wiki.triumphrat.net/TachoManual

I try to connect to "Igniter connection block" and route a new cable.


On 2007-04-24 16:28, Baltobonneville wrote:
Benjamua, I can send you a scan of the factory tachometer kit installation instructions, with clear diagrams, if you give me an e-mail address that can take large file attachments. This might help you figure out what you need to do.

[edit] PS Where is Tarragona?
I put a DRAG specialities, like the photo, it's a tachometer for twin motorbikes.
Maybe the coil signal is diferent than de ignition signal to tacho... I try it.

In few days I tell you the results.

Loxpump
I also ran a wire from my coil (the negative side), for the signal wire. I have a 2002 but I just gave up looking for the signal wire and went the easy route. Not sure if this may be a problem, and I don't know what kind of tach you have, but some may need an adapter. There are single fire and dual fire ignition syatems, not sure what we have, but the tach I have I believe works for a Harley Twin and I have no adapter and it works fine. Steady as ever, until I hit the rev limiter.
thanks everybody

[ This message was edited by: Benjamua on 2007-04-25 08:29 ]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
258 Posts
I'm interested in why you connected to the neg. side of the coil. I've had problems with my aftermarket tach not working well over 6000 RPM and am connected to the positive side. I'm wondering if that could be the problem. Also, what adapter is being mentioned if the tach isn't supposed to work with a single coil, dual output system? :???:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
I have not followed this thread too much after I originally posted, looks like its been revived.

Loxpump, I'll try to explain how the pins in the connector come out. There are two bars across the back of the connector that flip up (best I can explain it). I think they have catches on either side of the connector. You can see the bars and catches in the photo of the connector. Now the pins themselves still are stuck in the connector even with the bars flipped up. I used a large paper clip that was beveled on one side to release the pins from the connector. I filed down one side of the end of a paper clip until it was almost sharp - one side flat, one side round. Almost like a screwdriver tip. This pushed into the front of the connector easily releases the pin from the connector. I'll see if I have the homemade tool laying around and can snap a photo.

I also added my own connector in the headlight housing so the tach was not hardwired to the stock connector as others have done. I wanted to be able to remove the tach whenever I wanted, plus I like clean installations. Plus soldering the tach connection makes the best connection, so you dont get a poor tach signal (crimp on connectors are really bad for this)

Hope I explained it o.k. - its confusing until you get everything apart and are working on it, thats why I didn't write all this up initially.

PM me if you have any questions.
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
On 2007-04-25 08:21, Benjamua wrote:
(....)

I try to connect to "Igniter connection block" and route a new cable.



I put a DRAG specialities, like the photo, it's a tachometer for twin motorbikes.
Maybe the coil signal is diferent than de ignition signal to tacho... I try it.

In few days I tell you the results.
Hi!!
I have a problem whith Tacho. :???:
Wen I connect a tacho the Bonni sounds like this
boum - boum - boum - boum - (fail) - boum - boum - boum - boum -boum - boum - (fail) - boum - boum....

Sometimes, the motor have fail, and stops.
the failures are increased in cold.
I think the tacho works well.

Without the Tacho souns like a clock
boum - boum - boum - boum - boum - boum - boum - boum ....

Unit Control Problems?
Bonnie 2001 not ready for tacho?
***** Tacho?
Wath´s happen?

:???:
PD: that's all rigth!!
dirty connector problem, I clean it and now all is OK


[ This message was edited by: Benjamua on 2007-06-18 04:12 ]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
LS1,

The links on your original posting seem to have been lost or broken. Could you either repost the photos, or email them to me?

Many Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,065 Posts
LS1,
Thanks I need a tack and am cash strapped. I know I can buy those for under $100. U.S. I'm an old machinist/mechanic so the fab and install looks easy. It's nice when someone lays the blueprint out for you. There's no mysteries.
Great post, "I'm gettin ur done" with the first $100 in my hand.:)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
I bought one of these on ebay and fitted it last weekend. No problems at all :)

This thread has pics on the tacho wiring.
 
1 - 20 of 40 Posts
Top