Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wanting to put a temperature gauge on my TBS. The '99 that's been re-listed here has one that is on or where the oil fill plug is. Anyone have one, or know where one could be bought?
Thanks.

·
Registered
109 Posts
oil temp

those guages only tell you the oil temperature not the coolant temperature. Im no engineer but the only time ive seen a temp guage that wasnt for coolant temp was on a heavy duty diesel that had a guage for transmission temp, Im sure there is a reason for this

·
Premium Member
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
...which I would think is just as important as they both help keep the engine from overheating. Anyway, even a contact gauge is better than nothing.

·
Premium Member
3,568 Posts
It is very unlikely the coolant temperature would be in line and the oil temperature too high.

You have two over temp indications: first, if the fan comes on and never cycles off, and second, the warning light. Even if one fails, the likelihood of both failing is low.

I think I'd want oil pressure before oil temperature. After all, the pressure will drop if the temp gets too high, so you sort of get two for the price of one...

·
Premium Member
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good point. Mine is that I'd feel better with a little more information about how the motor is doing than the idiot light supplied.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
I am a little suprised the TBS does not have a water temp. gauge in the speedo cluster. Both my T-3 Sprint and my T-3 Legend have coolant temp. gauges from the factory. I have an oil pressure gauge screwed in to the oil line at the banjo fitting on the back of the head as well. I too am really big on having some imput as to how the engine is doing. ...J.D.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts