Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Triumph's and my motor is not charging. Any suggestions or directions on what I should be looking for and what the fix is?

Also, my petcock is leaking, is there a kit to fix it or do I need to buy another?

Many thanks,
Greg

·
Premium Member
2,403 Posts
Not being completely familiar with the D1200, I'm not sure. My advice from working on jetskis is to buy a manual and start checking your resistence trends on your connectors with an ohmeter. There will be a certain range of ohms that are acceptable and if any of your charging system connections are outside of those parameters, that's your problem. Sounds complicated but it's a cinch, really.

My WAG of your problem is the stator, if it is just out-right not charging. Now, if it charges while running and the battery will not hold a charge, that's different (could be about a dozen things). Your best bet is to get a decent ohmeter and get to checking. :-D

·
Registered
10 Posts
Take it you mean the battery is not charging?
Fault could be fuse, alternator, wiring , bad connection in charging circuit.
to check alternator (has integral regulator like a car)
run engine output should be appprox 14 -15 volts dc @ 4000rpm Measured across the battery.
Hope this helps

[ This message was edited by: rammstien on 2007-01-08 15:43 ]

·
Premium Member
2,512 Posts
nydesmo,
I had a leaky petcock too... saw the doctor and he fixed me right up...