Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Tiger riders. I've just joined and just about to buy a Tiger 885. I've not owned a Triumph before and i'm not very technical so would appreciate any advice on what(if any) possible faults to look for when purchasing an 885.

Thanks very much

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
Hi Tim.

Welcome to the forum :)

It's difficult to know where to start ?

An 885 is going to have had a good few winters on British roads, so will probably be feeling it's age by now.

I would check for a service history, bills and receipts, good test ride for mechanicals, previous owners, stolen recovered check, etc.

I'm sure you'll get some good advice on here though :)

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Which 885? Carbs or FI? While they are somewhat different, they all seem to all be pretty bulletproof. I have a 1999 FI model, my buddy Jim has a carb model. We love'm both! In Arizona, we don't have the same type of wear you would see on a bike from the UK. Since my Tiger shows a bit of rust in Arizona, I would imagine it could be really bad where it's actually wet! I would check out the bearings - steering head especially - and find out if it was garaged in the winter. I think it can be pretty ugly, cosmetically, and still be really strong and reliable. My Tiger, Maggie - the GPS is set to speak in British English and a British woman who tells you where to go is obviously Maggie - is up on my service stand undergoing a once-over at 60,000 miles. Basically oil change and filters and a bit of fastener tightening. Great motorcycle!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
An 885 is going to have had a good few winters on British roads, so will probably be feeling it's age by now.
Thanks Graeme. Amazingly it's only got 14,000 miles on it so I hope it hasn't had too hard a life :)