Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie here having just bought this bike from a guy on-line.
The seller assured me that the bike "runs great and starts easy". When I went to his house to get the bike, he was unable to get it started right away. He said that "sometimes it takes one kick, sometimes it takes twenty".
Sheesh, I prefer to get my aerobic exercise in other ways. ;)
After finally starting, I shut it off and couldn't get it started. Even he struggled to start it. He suggested that I not turn it off until I got it home so that I could "learn how to kickstart". Well, in the case of motorcycle mechanical issues, perhaps I really DID just fall off the turnip truck. But, this bike doesn't "start easy" in anyone's interpretation of the term "easy".
Anyway, I gave him the benefit of the doubt, and elected to take the 2 hour ride home. 10 minutes into the ride, the left cylinder sputtered, motorcycle surged ahead and back as left kicked in and out, and finally ran only on right cylinder,(I rode this way for 30 miles - trying to get it home!!). Then it started stalling like it's out of gas. Did this 4 or 5 times with 2-5 minute riding time on one cylinder in between. The wife was following me, so we put it in the truck and drove it home. I've taken it to a local shop.
I won't bore you with all the comments of the seller, but to sum up, he feels it's my "inexperience and lack of mechanical knowledge" that caused this (huh?) and "the bike has always run fine for him with no problems".
I have read through a lot of the VERY informative posts by the knowledgeable folks here. Thanks for taking the time to post all the great info here on this forum. I think I understand some of the issues that could be causing the problem.