Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings! I am a professional Wrench but haven't taken apart my Triumph before this. It's a '78 Tiger and second gear is acting up real bad. I will need to take the Primary Drive out and the trap-door, but I wanted to ask if there was any special 'tips' or 'tricks' that I should know before diving in. I'm doing this at my summer house and will not have my full toolbox at my disposal.
Thanx in advance.
Weazel

·
Registered
2,786 Posts
Greetings! I am a professional Wrench but haven't taken apart my Triumph before this. It's a '78 Tiger and second gear is acting up real bad. I will need to take the Primary Drive out and the trap-door, but I wanted to ask if there was any special 'tips' or 'tricks' that I should know before diving in. I'm doing this at my summer house and will not have my full toolbox at my disposal.
Thanx in advance.
Weazel
You're going to need some gear pullers. You will need the clutch hub puller. What do you have? You'll need the factory repair manual to index your gears on reassembly. Take pictures at a lot of intermediate stages. http://www.classicbike.biz/Triumph/Repair/1970s/73-78-Triumph-Bonneville-Tiger-Workshop-Manual.pdf
Bob

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply and thank you VERY much for the link to the manual. I have a Haynes somewhere around here, but since we've moved I can't find much of anything...
My wrenching is mostly on Japanese bikes, so my puller collection is somewhat lacking. I'll read the manual tomorrow and see what I need. I may not get much done this weekend after all, unless I can rent the pullers from the local auto parts store or borrow them from work.