Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 115 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brake caliper piston swap for ‘05+ Triumph Sprint

Disclaimer
I’m no lawyer, but I probably need to add some type of disclaimer.

I am not a trained mechanic. Nothing I write here has been evaluated or endorsed in any
way by Triumph motorcycles. If you use these instructions, use them at your own risk. This procedure worked for me, but I make no claims that it will work for anyone else.

Okay, now that’s out of the way………..

Materials

Parts
1. Triumph part # T2020465 (Piston kit). This kit comes with pistons and seals. It’s available from www.cycle-parts.com. The total, with shipping, was $135.59
<UL><LI>14mm Socket
<LI>14mm wrench
<LI>8mm wrench
<LI>6mm Allen wrench
<LI>5mm Allen wrench
<LI>Torque wrench
<LI>Phillips head screw driver
<LI>Needle Nose pliers
[/list]

Other Necessities
<UL><LI>At least 1 bottle of new DOT 4 brake fluid.
<LI>1 Roll of shop towels
<LI>Lots and lots of rags
<LI>Three cheap aluminum roasting pans (from the grocery store)
<LI>At least two, 2” (or longer) thin machine screws
<LI>At least two wing nuts for the machine screws
<LI>Four small metal washers
<LI>At least four small beveled rubber washers (available in the plumbing section of the hardware store)
<LI>Three feet of 3/16” inner diameter CLEAR vinyl tubing
<LI>A small, glass container, preferably with a top (I used an old canning jar with a screw on cap).
<LI>Tweezers
<LI>Latex gloves
<LI>Brake caliper cleaner
<LI>Beer
[/list]

Procedure
Read this procedure through completely BEFORE attempting the work.
Step one: crack a beer. You’re about to disassemble your brakes. You’re not going to ride anywhere, and it’s probably a good idea to calm your nerves anyway. Drink a beer. It will help.

This procedure describes the rebuilding of one front caliper. This process will have to be repeated for the other caliper.