Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,
I just bought this bike and love it and the way it sounds with the Hyde Togas sans baffles. A brief history about me: I'm a long time wrench, motorcycles, cars, helicopter mech in the Marine Corps, etc and I was a computer network admin, so I'm excited to get into EFI mapping! I've been running down the rabbit hole on this awesome forum and reading up on TuneECU site and TTP and Hyde, etc. I still have some questions. Since I inherited this bike with these pipes I want to take the next step and let more air in (current stock airbox). It seems a no brainer to try a higher flowing air filter in the stock box and remove the snorkel and perhaps the baffle? The AI is removed. And of course this brings me to A/F ratio questions and I hope someone here is willing to lend a hand.

1. On the TuneECU site the closest map list section I could identify was "BONNEVILLE 900 / not T 120 / up to VIN # 739050 (aircooled) / Keihin ECU." Now, I think this is my section since the last six of my VIN begin with a 4. Am I correct? This bike is 865cc so the "900" in the title of the list section is confusing to me.
2. Can I program this bike with the USB cable from my Android phone using TuneECU?
3. Looking at the TuneECU site, they don't mention the Toga slip ons. Anyone know if I should use "Arrow 2:2" or "Aftermarket" or what? It would be nice to have a resistance chart between aftermarket pipes.
4. What does TORS stand for? Triumph something something stock?
5. From the dyno charts on the TTP site, it looks like the the greatest gain for the least amount of intake futzing is to remove the snorkel, AI and install a higher flow air filter in the stock airbox. This is what TTP calls Stage 1. Getting that baffle out of that box (Stage 1.5?) seems like a real chore that I'm not willing to do for a 2HP gain at around 4K rpm, or am I?