Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... I’m a total noob when I comes to anything mechanics. My bike is a 2006 triumph Thruxton. It sat for about 8 months after my neighbor stupidly and drunkenly backed into it when it was on and idling ready for me to leave. So, I decided to pull the carb out and take a look, and after finally getting to the float bowls first thing that happens is the screws get all striped! (These are like soft clay and absolute trash! Where can I get new ones?) okay, secondly once I finally get to the jets the main jet comes out ZEro Problem, then the pilot jet starts giving me trouble. Like a moron I decide to try and extract it before watching any YouTube videos. After about 2 days and a lot of trying one came out fine (to my knowledge nothing was damaged) but the 2nd one ended up breaking off into a million pieces! Tried my best to see if it all came out but I couldn’t really see in there. So...my question is should I just buy new jets and try to put them in? Or should I cut my losses on get a new carburetor? I am wondering if it’ll even run after it’s all put back together. Remember I’m an absolute beginner with mechanics and repairs. I just didn’t want to go back to a shop and pay $975 for a carb rebuild and cleaning (Mickey Thompson knows his stuff though!) Also it’s been handled and the floats on springs have prob moved since. What size jets for a stock 06’ with a wider exhaust would you guys recommend? Also do I need to do anything else to the bike IF I get the jets installed along with the carb and it runs? The picture is before I butchered the pilot jets trying to pull them.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,339 Posts
The screws likely stripped because you used a Phillips screw driver on them. They are not Phillips screws; they are JIS screws. You need a JIS driver. That said, you can get stainless steel hex drive screws to replace them. Google "Keihin bowl screws".