Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to motorcycles, but I’ve always wanted a triumph. Just picked up a non running 2003 bonneville t100for $400 from my neighbor. The guy couldn’t get it to start. I couldn’t get it start and upon further inspection I believe the right side piston has broken. It’s further down in the chamber than the left side piston and the bike will not start.
My question is do I keep it and if so how much would something like this cost? Or I have the option to give the bike back with a refund. The rest of the bike is pristine and I really like it but just don’t want to be in over my head. I’m a newbie so any help is appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
290 Posts
The bike is already broken so you don't really have to worry about screwing it up, right? If you are not mechanically inclined or if you simply don't have a place to do it this type of endeavor may not be for you but if you want to learn buy a shop manual and get busy.

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Sounds like the motor is toast. On the bright side the rest of it has to be worth the $400.00. This might not be the one you want to start your career of rebuilding motors with but it is fairly easy to swap out the motor for a used one. They go for around $1000.00 or a little less, you need one from a 2001-2004 790cc Bonneville or Bonneville T100. The motors went to 865cc shortly after your's was made, they fit but your carbs are set up for 790cc and it will be one less thing for a self confessed newbie to worry about. Scrambler, America and Speedmaster motors have a different firing order and your electronics are not compatible. All Thruxtons are 865cc. Don't worry if the replacement motor has plain case covers, your chrome ones will fit.
Don't know how close to you these guys are but this gives you some idea of costs.

·
Registered
116 Posts
You may want to explain more about your conclusion. It does not sound correct.