Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to motorcycles and my T140V.

I have replaced the broken red kill switch on the RH handlebar. I noticed that of the two black rectangular buttons above/below the kill switch, one of them did have a wire soldered to one side of the black button switch. I cannot see what these black buttons do. Do either of them have a purpose, or are they not used from the manufacturer?

My speedometer is missing the trip odometer reset stem that would stick out of the rear face of the speedometer at 7 o'clock position. I had heard there is a long (4"- 6") flexible stem for this. If so, where can I find one?

Peace,
Phred Tire Wheel Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle

· Super Moderator
11,742 Posts
Hi Phred,

Firstly, welcome to the Forum. :)

two black rectangular buttons above/below the kill switch
The black button without any wires attached doesn't do anything.

The black button with a wire attached (insulation mainly White with Red tracer lines?) was for an electric starter ... :cool:

I kid you not ... That switch cluster and its corresponding one on the left handlebar (headlamp dip switch on top moves forwards-backwards, turn signals switch below that moves side-to-side, horn push at the bottom might also flash headlamp main if pushed upwards) were lifted from the '75 T160, that did have an electric-starter; the kill-switch cluster was an adaption of an earlier switch cluster so the red lever was a positive on/off switch for the engine, necessary for the T160 to comply with a 1975 FMVSS to allow the model to be sold in the US; then fitted to '76-'78 750 twins for the same reason.

The other end of the White/Red wire, inside the headlamp shell, must be insulated:-

. either by being plugged into the main harness with the multi-way pin-'n'-socket plug;

. or, if the plug's been cut off and the wires have individual terminals, by some sort of insulation;