Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I'm completely new to the form. I've googled and searched within and have found countless awesome conversations, but nothing as of yet that definitively solves my issue. I've been putting a 1972 Tiger 650 together that I literally got in five milk crates. It now has a twin carb head on it and original air box for twin carb in 72. I've noticed now that the throttle grip side or right hand side carb boot does not want to mount up correctly. It appears that the engine may be slightly to the left. I've been wondering if I may have the engine spacers on the front and or bottom in incorrectly making the engine slightly miss aligned. The books and manuals I've searched so far don't give any dimensions. Any help getting to the bottom of which spacer lengths go where on a 1972 OIF 650 would be greatly appreciated!
Thankyou in advance for any help.

I currently have the case centered in the frame on the case half. Longer spacer on none drive output side. Its about a 1/4 inch longer. Thinking maybe this is reverse and will even up the carbs by splitting the difference if switched around. 1/4 inch in on one side is 1/4 out on the other. But even of greater importance is the chain alignment down the road. I don't want to even up the carbs if the chain is correct as is.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
8,870 Posts
Hi,

Firstly, welcome to the Forum. :) I've moved your thread to Classic, Vintage & Veteran; the Air Cooled Twins forums are for the Hinckleys that fit the description.

engine may be slightly to the left. I've been wondering if I may have the engine spacers on the front and or bottom in incorrectly making the engine slightly miss aligned.
currently have the case centered in the frame on the case half.
Not sure what that last phrase means? :confused: