Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am looking for a winter project and found a 71 T120 for sale locally. I am a novice mechanic and looking to learn and have some fun. The bike looks complete but probably has not run in awhile. He is asking $1500. Any suggestions? I have heard numerous comments on the OIF set up, but is it really anything to worry much about? Not concerned with resale value as much as experience. Any comments would be appreciated

Sent from my iPad using MO Free

·
Premium Member
9,566 Posts
ok, I'll chip in, although I'm a short arse and have never ridden a 71.

I like the OIF, and they are cheaper than the non OIF. The 71 will be a high framed bike that took several years to eventually settle down to the final frame.

I understand that if you've longish legs, the bike is fine. I have to have a lower saddle on my bike to get both feet on the ground.

as always, a bike that "looks ok but hasn't run in a while" is far cheaper in the States than the UK but you see some real messes over here for £2k that will require a lot of work.

If you are happy with the frame height, I'd go with it, but be prepared to spanned at least twice the purchase price on parts. Wheel rebuilds and paint cost a lot. Dented tinware or replacements can cost a fair bit

·
Registered
17 Posts
I've owned my 71 bonnie since 1973 I think the height issue is b.s. I'm 5'8".
Really reliable bike easy to work on. Parts are easy to get in Aussie. They handle great very solid frame just check the swing arm pivet where its welded to oil tank if they haven't been lubricated they can crack. My bonnie gets plenty of fresh oil and preventive maintenance and has never let my down in all the years iv owned her.

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4