Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i'm new to the page and new to owning a triumph so bare with me but my primary chain is missing a roller on my 1970 500cc twin triumph T100S so naturally i'm going to replace it. when changing the chain can i remove the clutch basket and sprocket with plates and everything else in one piece? or do all the clutch plates need to be removed before pulling sprocket and basket? id like to make this job as easy as possible as riding season is coming up shortly

·
Super Moderator
8,256 Posts
Hi,

Firstly, welcome to the Forum. :)

1970 ... T100S
primary chain is missing a roller
remove the clutch basket and sprocket with plates and everything else in one piece?
'Fraid not.

all the clutch plates need to be removed before pulling sprocket and basket?
'Fraid so - Triumph Workshop Manual free to read online (also available brand-new on paper), Sections C9 and CC9 (latter at the end of Section C).

Also, parts books free to read online; however, unfortunately, T100S is a 'UK & General Export' version, '70 was the only year Triumph produced separate US-market and UK&GE parts books and the US version is the only one online, you have to juggle between '69 and '70 books for some parts, :( although not the primary. (y) However, the UK&GE parts book is available brand-new on paper. (y)

Hth.

Regards,

·
Registered
7,954 Posts
It will give you a chance to check the plates for wear by taking it all apart. Buy some clutch shock absorber rubbers and change them as it is out anyway. I also had a roller shatter on my T120r. It had lasted 4000 miles and was obviously an inferior brand. I now use Renolds chain and that has covered over 10,000 miles so far. Buy a quality chain and not a low cost one.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi,

Firstly, welcome to the Forum. :)