Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I had a bit of an oil leak at the end of last summer and seized my motor:( I have decided to take the time and rebuild the engine and as much of the bike as is necessary and within my budget. I am completely new to this so any constructive advice would be most welcome. so far i have removed the engine from the frame, had new valves put and the cylinders re-bored. I am currently working on the primary side of the motor. thanks for any help you can provide. i will update as often as i can with pictures of my progress.

Attachments

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no was just asking if anyone had any tips/observations about rebuilding that they could offer. right now i am stuck trying to get the keyway out of the transmition shaft. have tried to wedge it out with a pair of dikes like i did the others but it is proving difficult. any suggestions?

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Nevermind...i got it out and have removed the back plate. does anyone know of a good shop here in the U.S. that you can get parts and the proprietary tools needed for rebuilding a triumph engine?

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
Hello all,

I had a bit of an oil leak at the end of last summer and seized my motor:( I have decided to take the time and rebuild the engine and as much of the bike as is necessary and within my budget. I am completely new to this so any constructive advice would be most welcome. so far i have removed the engine from the frame, had new valves put and the cylinders re-bored. I am currently working on the primary side of the motor. thanks for any help you can provide. i will update as often as i can with pictures of my progress.