Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to the forum. I’ve some experience with motorcycles, first Bultaco Pursangs in the 1970’s, then on to BMW bikes. I had a K75S and rebuilt most of it. Then onto a K1300S, perfect shape and very fast and smooth - passed on to another rider in 2019.

I’m in the northern part of Virgina, in the USA.

Now those have gone and I’ve recently acquired a Triumph T120R. The bike is a 1967 T120R Bonneville frame (DU49062) and the engine from a 1969 T120R (EC 19971). It has been in storage for the past 30 years or so. It was rebuilt in about 1982, with a Routt 800cc big barrel kit. Apparently it wasn’t ridden much after then, the owner being in the military and moving around a bit while the bike was in storage.

So I am trying to decide how to best approach this beast. The Amal monobloc dual carburetors are off the bike, and they have the numbers of “10 66” and “389/95” written on the intake flanges. So I am wondering where to get a rebuild kit for these carburetors - or perhaps new carburetors?

Since the bike was rebuilt in 1982 and not ridden much after, I was thinking of just trying to rebuild the carbs and install them and do a good change of oil and fluids and such and trying to give the bike a go - that is see if I can get it running.

The gas tank is rusted out so I need a new tank. I was looking for something simple, and saw some of the tanks for sale on eBay from India. I’ve heard these are not so great. Although I see they also have an alloy/aluminun tank that looks pretty nice.

I am not trying to restore this bike, but just get it running and ridable - with a look to it being a bit more of a scrambler/desert sled style.