Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1970 Triumph Bonneville T120
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone. Long time lurker, first time poster here.

I recently acquired a 1970 T120 and have been working my way through changing fluids, rebuilding carbs, etc. I'm new to working on older bikes and discovering "creative solutions" that previous owners may have used. :)

I was trying to change the spark plugs tonight. I found that the right plug hole takes a 16 mm wide thread, and my new plugs have a 14 mm wide thread.

The old plug had some type of jacket threaded onto it that made it fit in the 16 mm wide hole. I was able to heat up the plug and take the jacket off.

I'd like to order more of these jackets but I don't know what they're called. Does anyone know what these things are called and where I can find more of them? I always feel like a schmuck when I wander into my local auto parts store, sheepishly hold up a part, and ask them for a new "one of these things."

Better yet, is there a way to restore my right spark plug hole to accept the normal 14 mm threads?

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can offer. I have already benefited tremendously by reading through all the posts on this site!

·
Banned
480 Posts
I'll wager you have a "Keensert" or other repair insert on that plug.

At one point someone stripped the spark plug hole thread and a Keensert or Helicoil would be the appropriate repair.

More than likely the same mechanically challenged person who stripped the plug threads installed the Keensert.

Installed correctly a Keensert should be permanently installed in the head and not come out with the spark plug. These repair inserts are NOT reusable and should be locked into the plug hole as a permanent repair