Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to the forum but I have done a search and read what there was but really no specific answer related to my 2001 sprint st. I just recently purchased the 01 and must say I was quite pleased. Very nice bike.... However it still has the stock can and it is extremely quiet. Quiet is ok unless you live in the burbs like I do and every housewife, teenager is usually talking on their damn cell phone and cannot hear you when you are riding/passing along side of them. So I purchased the twobros ti m5 for the bike. My question is will I need to have the ecu remapped? I've read yes and no. It's a slip on can and mid pipe. That is all that is being replaced. Any specific info would be of great help. If I need to spend the $$ at the shop having my ecu remapped I will but if it is really not necessary I save the money for a 6r of Guiness and a couple of steaks.

·
Premium Member
8,211 Posts
Yep remap it. Listen to wise Decosse. No point in putting on exhaust but not telling your ecu that it can breath better.

·
Premium Member
4,389 Posts
Here is a thread to what I just put on my '02.
Full report, review with pics and dyno info.

http://www.triumphrat.net/sprint-forum/106828-wolf-trident-stubbie.html

Totally happy with it. Gained a lot of power throughout the range. Smoothed out the power band. Beautiful sound dropped about 20 lbs off the back end and chicks dig it.

And it now has a nice decel burble

Yes you will have to have it mapped. No biggie.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yep remap it. Listen to wise Decosse. No point in putting on exhaust but not telling your ecu that it can breath better.