Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here, and am in the market for a new bike. I had decided on the Honda 919, but recently saw a pic of the S3. Now, my problem is I can't decide which I like better. I have been gathering info on the 919 for a while, but never researched the S3. What are some of your opinions of it? Does anyone have any direct knowledge that could compare it to the 919? I like the 01-04 style (longer tail). I am also looking to stay at or under $4-5K, so it will be the 02-04 919 that I will be looking at as well. Are there any issues to look out for in the years mentioned? (like...watch the 01 for a fill in the blank issue)

Thanks,

Shawn

·
Registered
106 Posts
I bought a used '03 triple... bada$$ bike. even my cruiser buddies are envious of the thing. Looks mean and has a triumph name behind it and can smoke most bikes around. Fun in the twisties, fast in the straightaways, and mean on the streets. If I had a choice to go back and do it again I wouldn't change a thing. Only issue I have heard of involves the connection from the gas tank to the engine. I think there was a recall at some point but I had to replace mine again anyway (seals weren't perfect). Hope this helps.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
2bugeyez,

I would like to test ride one, but the closest Triumph dealer is an hour away from here (it is in Austin) and don't show any used in stock right now.

birdman,

All info helps!! I am assuming most people here will be pro S3, but the more input I get, the more of an informed decision I can make. Thanks!!

Shawn

·
Registered
700 Posts