oil pressure switch replacement - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
T3 Sport / Touring Forum For the discerning Hinckley Sporting Enthusiasts. Open to all lovers of the original T3 Sport Models including the Trident, Sprint, Sprint Exec, Daytona, Trophy, and Speed Triple.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: 1997 Trophy 900
Senior Member
 
doofus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mineola, NY
Posts: 168
oil pressure switch replacement

I may have to replace the oil pressure switch on my Ď97 Trophy. The light only works occasionally, and Iíd feel more comfortable knowing that it will light up Iíd thereís a problem, even though I check the oil level often. I still need to test the bulb by grounding the wire, I just havenít done that yet. Iím pretty sure the switch location is the later one, on the top of the crankcase, cause every time I need a part for the bike itís for the later Trophy. So my question is, if the switch is, in fact, at the top of the crankcase, do I need to drain the oil before removing it? I just did an oil change a few hundred miles ago and Iíd like to avoid those extra steps if possible. Also will I need to remove any fairing pieces to reach the switch?
doofus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 01:39 PM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: 1997 Trophy 900
Senior Member
 
doofus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mineola, NY
Posts: 168
ok so I answered some of my own questions..the switch is on top of the crankcase and easily accessible without removing any plastic bits. Grounding the wire lights up the dash bulb consistently, so the problem is the pressure switch itself. All I need to know know is whether i have to deal with draining the oil before changing it out. It seems like the oil level wouldn’t be higher than that, but maybe someone’s done this before?
doofus is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 11:40 PM
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 2016 Honda Africa Twin
New Member
 
Tytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: White Rock B.C.
Posts: 26
Other Motorcycle: 1995 Triumph Sprint
Extra Motorcycle: 1982 Honda FT500 Ascot
Garage
No need to drain the oil if the switch goes in the top of the case. I had to replace one on a 1998 Tiger easy job.

1995 Daytona Super III, 1995 Sprint 900 and a few Hondas
Tytan is online now  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: 1997 Trophy 900
Senior Member
 
doofus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mineola, NY
Posts: 168
cool, thanks..now I just need to find out if itís the same part number as the one that is located low on the sump. All the parts diagrams I could find online only show that one. Iíll call Hermyís later on and make sure.
doofus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome