Rs Sprint Battery problem - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Sprint Forum Sprint ST - Sprint RS - Sprint GT Join in on one of the world's most active Triumph Sport-Touring Forums.

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
Rs Sprint Battery problem

Hi all.

I went out for a 20 mile ride yesterday, got back, stopped the bike to get the garage door up, went to restart her and 2 cranks and clicking so battery nearly discharged. Charge the battery overnight, put it back on the bike and, obviously, fired up staraight away. Then I tested the battery with a multi-meter and showed 12.4v. Started the bike and while cranking went to 10.2v which tells me that the battery is in fairly good health. Ran the bike around 2000RPM and the voltage was just over 13v. More RPM and the voltage dropped to low 12v which seems odd to me as my llogic tells me that it should go up?

The puzzling bit is that the battery had lost its charge AFTER a run (I have a relay to enable both dip beams all of the time fitted. I've tested with and without the relay but hardly makes any difference.

Does anyone have a clue as to what is happening.

Thanks folks.

Jon
Jonboy123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 07:56 AM
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: 02 Sprint RS
Senior Member
 
Steve Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,875
Other Motorcycle: 06 Tiger
Extra Motorcycle: a few others
Rectum fryer took a dump?
Super Mostfet kit works well.
http://roadstercycle.com/
Stevienh and Jonboy123 like this.
Steve Ford is offline  
post #3 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
UPDATE

UPDATE

Just checked the stator voltages. The connector to the rectifier was pretty melted and the spade connectors came out when i pulled the connector. Checked the three phase terminals from the stator anyway and absolutely no reading on any of them. Am I correct in assuming that the stator is the culprit?
Jonboy123 is offline  
 
post #4 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 09:05 AM
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: 02 Sprint RS
Senior Member
 
Steve Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,875
Other Motorcycle: 06 Tiger
Extra Motorcycle: a few others
You mean no output when it's running?
Yes, that is a bad sign.
Shame they don't have a little cover to pop off like Harley does, you can use your nose to diagnose the problem.
Nothing quite like the smell of a burnt stator.

https://itstillruns.com/check-motorc...-12026147.html
Steve Ford is offline  
post #5 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 03:21 PM
Site Supporter
Supernova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
Super Moderator
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 21,087
Garage
To check the stator, simply disconnect and measure resistance from any one terminal to engine ground - if this is 'short' (zero or close to zero ohms) then stator is fried. If 'open' infinite resistance, is good.
That test is sufficient, no need to even check voltages.
However if you really feel you need to (and it has passed the resistance check - if not don't even bother!) then you set your meter to AC V and measure between the three possible combinations of two-pins. i.e. A-B, B-C, A-C - where AB & C are arbitrarily assigned as you choose.
You cannot get 'nothing' as even a failed stator will still produce voltage.

* bike not running nor even ignition on.

p.s. Please add your model year to your bike info in your profile
DEcosse is offline  
post #6 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
I Know Steve. Not a cheap fix but has to be done. Looks like it has gone before as its not the first time that the cover has been off!
Jonboy123 is offline  
post #7 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
Just set my model year DEcosse.

I checked the AC voltage coming to the 3 pins one by one with the engine running and absolutely nothing on the multi-meter! Doesnt look like the first time that the cover has been off either, so this has happened before. Can you suggest what to replace the stator with? An original Triumph one is silly money but I have found one on fleabay for @130. Would you change the regulator too?
Jonboy123 is offline  
post #8 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
Just found one on Amazon for 45 new!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Areyourshop...gateway&sr=8-1

What do you think?

Will I have to drain the coolant before removing the cover?

Thanks

Jon

Last edited by Jonboy123; 08-04-2019 at 01:38 PM. Reason: Forgot to add some stuff
Jonboy123 is offline  
post #9 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 02:39 PM
Site Supporter
Supernova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
Super Moderator
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 21,087
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonboy123 View Post
... I checked the AC voltage coming to the 3 pins one by one with the engine running ...
That's not how I explained
And do the resistance check - THAT is going to be definitive.
DEcosse is offline  
post #10 of 59 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: Sprint 955i RS 2004
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Whitwick, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 47
Hi DEcosse.

That is how you explained. I did the resistance check with all 3 phases but 0 reading from each one. The plug had melted which made it a little tricky to disconnect but, nonetheless, there was no reading with the engine running.
Jonboy123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome