Trying to get my 06 S3 Up and Running Again. - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Production 125
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Madisonville, LA
Posts: 8
Trying to get my 06 S3 Up and Running Again.

Hi All,

I've been an S3 owner since 2006. I recently moved back home to Louisiana and unfortunately my bike sat for about 3.5 years due to a debilitating injury I sustained. I've healed up enough to take the time to try and ride my S3 again so, I gave my S3 the once over of a lifetime.

1. Drained fuel (Non-Ethanol) and replaced with fresh non ethanol.
2. Flushed coolant system with vinegar and water. Topped off and ready to go.
3. Drained both brake systems and topped off with new DOT 4 fluid.
4. Changed the oil. Mobile 1
5. Changed the spark plugs with NGK CR9EK and gapped to .030.
6. Installed a brand new battery.

My S3 has a PCII USB and a Zard full pipe and exhaust. I was running a custom map I had done by HDF1 Motorsports in Atlanta. The bike always ran a little rich in Atlanta which resulted in my having to change plugs every riding season. I figured I would leave that map in place as now I am at sea level and that should help a bit with the richness of the map.

Anyway, when I fired the bike up for the first time with the new battery, it fired right up and seemed to run okay. So, I buttoned everything back up. I fired the bike up again and noticed it took a little longer for the bike to fire off. So, I took it out for a ride. It was then that I noticed the misfiring. While on the ride, the bike would kill when I pulled in the clutch and let the RPMs fall to idle. The misfires seemed to be reduced significantly when I kept the bike in 4th gear and was running about 5k RPM. So I kept it there to get back home.

Now when I try to start the bike, I can smell fuel, but the bike barely lights off. Ultimately, it stopped lighting off altogether. The only thing I could think is that perhaps I have a bad battery, so I promptly yanked it out and returned it. I'm going to be ordering a new battery this weekend in hopes I can get a better battery with a higher CCA. Leaning towards a lithium with 364 CCAs.

All vacuum lines are connected and like new. No brittle lines anywhere on the bike. If I do manage to get the bike to light off, it idles very roughly and eventually dies. I tried the 12 minute tune, but the bike can't get through it. I know the ECU is working because just as it is about to die, the RPMs pick back up and the bike continues to idle poorly. Eventually it dies before completing the 12 minute tune.

I'm not very good with a Ohm meter. But, I'm thinking I have a bad connector somewhere. Not sure what else to try if the new battery fails to solve the problem. I pulled the plugs again and they are clean. No fouling. So, I'm good there. Coil sticks look clean and there is no corrosion in the spark plug wells. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm hoping this is simple as I do not have the ability to get the bike to a shop for diagnosis. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Bananimal; 08-07-2019 at 08:25 PM.
Bananimal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 09:35 PM
Site Supporter
Supernova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
Super Moderator
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 21,085
Garage
The battery is irrelevant once its running, as long as the generating system is working properly.

Double check those vacuum hoses to the MAP sensor

Check your plugs again - if they are fouled I would think seriously about your PC3 - would have thought you could find a decent map without really requiring the PC3 anyway.

Are you running an O2 sensor, or was that eliminated with the pipe & custom tune? (if eliminated, 12 min tune will do nothing)
If it wasn't eliminated, then the O2 sensor will be trying to over-ride any changes made by the PC3 map anyway.
DEcosse is online now  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 09:36 PM
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 2016 Speed Triple R
Senior Member
 
Nicspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 841
Garage
Why did you change the spark plugs clearance? That might just be the culprit. You’ll get a spark yes, but it won’t be “just right” to keep a steady idle. Now I’d start checking the charging system since the battery got drained, (unless you cranked it for far too long?) Get the new batt, and take it to the auto part store to have them check your negative return voltage. Should be around 14.5 or like they showed me on their computer as “passed”. If not 05-07 models came with a flawed stator that short circuits due to high temps and weak copper winding, this happened to me btw.
If this is the case get a Rick’s stator for like $100 I believe, tried and true, those have stronger wiring.
If the charging system is still good. Replace those spark plugs and leave them with factory clearance as it is the cheapest solution to try.
Nicspeed is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 10:08 PM Thread Starter
Production 125
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Madisonville, LA
Posts: 8
DeCosse, The O2 sensor was eliminated. The plugs look fine. What is the MAP sensor? Not sure what that is or where to look. As far as I can tell all vacuum lines are connected and snug.

Nicspeed, the .030 gap on the plugs is recommended in the owner's manual. I originally put in a set of CR8EKs and left them with the factory gap. The misfiring was there. Once I realized I had the wrong plugs, I put in the CR9EKs and gapped them, thinking this might be part of the problem. It doesn't appear to be.

Thanks for the advice on the Ricks stator. I saw the cost of an OEM replacement and there was no way I could swing that. There are two stators on the Rick's website. Guess I will have to pull the stator and measure to be sure I get the right one.
Bananimal is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 11:14 PM
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 2016 Speed Triple R
Senior Member
 
Nicspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 841
Garage
No problem, I’ve been around speedies gremlins for long enough to stay quiet if somebody is dealing with them. IF the charging system is deficient this is the link for your stator:

https://www.jpcycles.com/product/160...ics-inc-stator

Also you’ll have to order the paper gasket for the stator cover from the dealer, that may take about 4 days if they send it from Georgia’s warehouse.

Still, that doesn’t explain the misfire.
I’m a bit lost as to where that might be starting if your coils are fine and get spark. But again, there might be an internal ruptured wire that won’t completely sever connectivity and give the impression of normal operation. Might as well replace them shouldn’t be a big expenditure and use electrical grease when installing.
Nicspeed is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Production 125
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Madisonville, LA
Posts: 8
Thanks for the link. I was watching a video on how to test/replace the stator and noted a big vacuum line on the bottom right of the air box that was disconnected. I never disconnected mine intentionally, so I wasn't aware it was disconnected when I pulled the airbox. I bet this is the issue. Once I get the new battery installed, I will reconnect and test.
Bananimal is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 11:39 PM
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 2016 Speed Triple R
Senior Member
 
Nicspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 841
Garage
Yeah that hose would give idling issues and stalling for sure. Fingers crossed
Nicspeed is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 12:27 PM
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2007 Speed Triple
Member
 
$hporty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Long Island, New York!!
Posts: 61
Other Motorcycle: 1998 Daytona T595
Fingers crossed but if it were my bike I would 1. check the charging system 2. Get rid of the PCIII and run the stock ECU/tune with the o2 sensor. I doubt you even need a tune but at least you can then eliminate the PCIII and tune from the equation if you still have the issue
$hporty is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:18 PM
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: 05 Speed Triple
Senior Member
 
Al'Speed3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 152
as mentioned .. first thing is to get rid of PC3 .... tunECU is the way to go for this generation Speedy. should get rid of the misfire with a map that suits your mods.

Ride-on
Al'Speed3X is online now  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
Production 125
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Madisonville, LA
Posts: 8
Well, it took almost two weeks for the new battery to come in. Popped it in tonight and fired her up. The misfiring still persists even with the big vacuum hose connected to the air box. The bike is running way rich. I'm going to try a few maps tomorrow and see if that helps. If not, I guess the next step is to pull my K&N filter and test run the engine. If that fails, I guess I'll remove the PCIII. What do I need for TuneECU?

Something is causing the bike to either not get enough air, or it's mapped way too rich. If I try an blip the throttle at idle, it dies immediately. If I slowly increase RPM, the engine sputters then climbs in RPM. Once there, it is missing. The tach is all over the place. Once the engine is warm, it's really hard to start. I have to crank it like 8 times before it barely sputters to life. This is so disappointing. I have a bad knee from an accident three years ago and the bike sat while I was recovering. I finally get to the point where I can ride my bike and it ain't happening. The bike looks brand new. It just doesn't run like it now. I knew this was going to be the case because it sat so long.
Bananimal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome