98 t509 cutting out at idle- when warm - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 10:32 AM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
98 t509 cutting out at idle- when warm

Hey! Thought I would ask you all. I am not able to figure this out. I’m mechanically inclined and I am stumped!

I won this bike at a copart auction a couple months ago.

The bike is a 98 with 21k mile. It did not run when I got it- no key got a key made and it fired right up but would cut out at idle when warm.

Compression test came to 110 on 2 cylinders and 105 on another. Granted I think the gauge is off as my friends cb550 could only do 60 compression on all cylinders.

The bike when warm will develop a miss and cut out at idle.

I’ve replaced:
Coil packs (used)
Spark plugs (old ones were fine)
Professionally cleaned fuel injectors (injectors were clean already doh)
Fuel filter
New battery
All vacuum lines to iacv- I kept the check valves
Fuel lines in tank look fine, I replaced clamps with fuel injector hose clamps.
The air box does not go on super tight it will sit on the throttle bodies snug but a good tug takes the air box right off.

This didn’t help.

After I checked compression the bike did get a check engine light. I’m assuming this will go away after a couple of cycles.

Any ideas I’m thinking maybe it’s the fuel pressure regulator

I’m connective the top fuel pump line to the long line that is on the left side of the bike.

Short line to the bottom fuel pump line.

At this point I’m going to give it a tune ecu scan but that will take a day or 2 as my friend has an Android and I do not haha.

Thanks in advance!!

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
Not sure how to edit this post on a mobile phone.

There is an extra connector that is black right next to the coil packs that connects to nothing. Not sure about that!

Also no check engine lights previous to running the bike with the sensors unplugged for the compression test.


The bike I bought at auction and it was laid over just cosmetic damage from what I can tell.

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
Swapped fuel lines around same behavior.

Maybe the map is junk on it?

It runs well unti it doesn’t gets a miss and it’s not consistent then will randomly stall out.

The fpr was replaced with a used one, I swapped fuel pump plates same behaviors on both fpr’s

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 12:18 PM
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: '98 T595 Daytona
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern NJ US
Posts: 7,000
Other Motorcycle: 2014 Ninja 1000ABS
The extra black connector by the coils is probably the cam position sensor. Not used. I have one on my '98T595 Daytona that is connected, but from what I've read, the ECU does nothing with the info. Use TuneECU to see what the map is. You can save the map and then download another map that is suggested in the TuneECU map library for your bike and year.

Perhaps the TBs need balancing.

Last edited by Felony; 04-27-2019 at 12:22 PM.
Felony is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 03:55 PM
Site Supporter
Supernova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
Super Moderator
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 20,687
Garage
I agree with Felony on the balancing &lt;br /&gt;<br />
&lt;br /&gt;<br />
Your original fuel line orientation was 'factory' but as you found really makes no practical difference &lt;br /&gt;<br />
&lt;br /&gt;<br />
I dont think the 98 t509 harness had a cam sensor connector - not 100% on that though&lt;br /&gt;<br />
Better to identify the wire colours than the shell connector colour - it could be the CA-only connector for fuel vapor emissions although that is typically a grey junior timer connector<br />
<br />
The MIL was from having ignition on with things disconnected

What is the idle rpm?
DEcosse is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
I got tune ecu working via a Bluetooth obd reader.

Tested iacv etc and all came back normal from what I can see.

The map stored on the bike is 9852

It probably needs the 9853 map as it has the oem carbon low mount can.

That being said, I reset the tps... and now it won’t start. Haha maybe it is out of gas. Did I screw this up some how I did it on a cold motor with the ignition key on

The bike when running would idle at 1700 then go down to 1200 or so then Down to 1100 when warm it would get that miss and randomly stall out.

Idle fuel trim is set to 16.4

Long Term Fuel Trim is set to 0

Does anyone have a suggestion of a wired cable that will work for this bike and android device? This is so I can put on the 9853 map.

Thanks again

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 03:27 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
I filled it up with gas and it came back to life.

It seems to be idling better now. But it still did cut itself out once. The attached video gives the behavior although I could not get it to stall.

Is it running like it needs a throttle body sync?

https://youtu.be/RjpALP-I8JI

Thanks!

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 03:50 PM
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: '98 T595 Daytona
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern NJ US
Posts: 7,000
Other Motorcycle: 2014 Ninja 1000ABS
Did the bike have fuel in it when you bought it? How many times did you fill the tank since owning. Maybe there is water in the tank. You did replace the filter. You completely drained the tank? Idle doesn't sound too bad, but there does seem to be some missing at higher constant RPM. The difference between the high and low mount maps is probably minimal. Not going to stall out the engine. How about valve clearances? And once again, TB balance.
Felony is online now  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 97 speed triple
New Member
 
greenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 27
Garage
Adjusted the throttle bodies. My sync tool is junk so I did the mechanical ‘bench’ method of using the same size drill bit. So leaving the right one open with the drill bit closed on it I balanced the other 2 throttle plates to that one using another drill bit.

Fired he bike up with the air box off, it was idly perfect quick to rev and happy. No more stumble.

I put everything back together, fire bike up get a p0122 code

I clear the code, clear adaptations on the tps. Same code. It looks to be plugged in and happy. Bike idles fine now with no miss but if given throttle it stumbles. Thoughts?

Thanks!!

98 t509 roulette green raleigh, nc
greenwood is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 06:47 PM
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: '98 T595 Daytona
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern NJ US
Posts: 7,000
Other Motorcycle: 2014 Ninja 1000ABS
That code is tps low input. Maybe you disturbed the connector, not secured. It will take 3 no-fault cycles before the MIL lamp will go out. 40 cycles before the code is erased by the ECU. Don't think there are any adaptations for your year model, but I could be wrong.

The left side TB or cylinder #1 is non-adjustable. You sync the other two to number 1.
Felony is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
t509 stalling at idle triplerock Speed Triple Forum 7 08-27-2015 10:28 AM
06 America cutting out when warm kent01 Cruisers - America, Speedmaster 15 02-05-2015 03:26 PM
Idle and jetting issues on carb 790cc msomerstein Air Cooled Twins Technical Talk 16 05-27-2013 12:15 AM
Rough Idle after warm up mjs3350 Speed Triple Forum 2 06-08-2011 08:45 AM
T509 High Idle matic00 Speed Triple Forum 4 05-15-2011 12:51 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome