T140E wiring harness - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Classic, Vintage & Veteran For Coventry and Meriden Models. Anything pre-Hinckley goes.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-09-2008, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: '78 Triumph T140E
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 161
Other Motorcycle: '07 Ducati ST3S
Extra Motorcycle: '68 BSA B44B
T140E wiring harness

I have a 1978 numbers matching T40E EX08126. It has a two wire alternator. I would like to replace the harness but I'm not sure which one to order. The diagrams for the '78 T140E in the Haynes manual show 3 wire alternator setups. Was there a special harness used in the early E's? Should I consider a change over to the 3 wire alternator? Any information would be appreciated.

As it is, Andy
'78 Triumph Bonneville T140E
motersikelist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-09-2008, 05:17 PM
SuperBike
Senior Member
 
DAGAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DERBY, ENGLAND
Posts: 1,458
Andy, the first generation T140E was a 'mix n match' crossover from the 'V' and has a unique wiring loom. These are available to buy from Triumph shops in England, probably also in the States.
The two wire alternator for the 'E' is single phase and the three wire is Three phase. The two wire is 120 watts and the 3 wire is 180 watts. Either will run a halogen head light just fine. The 180 watt comes into it's own with the electric start.
Roy.
DAGAD is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2008, 07:32 AM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: '78 Triumph T140E
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 161
Other Motorcycle: '07 Ducati ST3S
Extra Motorcycle: '68 BSA B44B
Thanks Roy for the good news. I was afraid a previous owner had replaced the alternator with whatever was available and reversed the ground too. I'll keep it correct and stay with the 2 wire, find the correct loom and maybe get lucky and find the correct wiring diagram.

Thanks again.

As it is, Andy
'78 Triumph Bonneville T140E

Last edited by motersikelist; 09-10-2008 at 07:52 AM. Reason: clarity
motersikelist is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2008, 05:34 PM
SuperBike
Senior Member
 
DAGAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DERBY, ENGLAND
Posts: 1,458
Andy, PM me your email address and I'll get you the correct wiring diagram.
Roy.
DAGAD is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2009, 11:59 AM
Newbie
Main Motorcycle: Triumph Bonneville 1978 T
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1
Wiring diagram

Hi

I've got a T140E with I suspect a very close frame number to yours, and hve been wondering for a while if I had the only one with the odd wiring loom

If you have a diagram I'd be really pleased to have a copy!

Also, I'd like to know which wire goes where on the headlight switch, as I can't seem to get it right and all my diagrams have different colous to the loom on my bike!

Thanks!
Laurie is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2009, 02:47 PM
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Triumph Scrambler
Senior Member
 
gumpt1oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cumbria, England
Posts: 508
Other Motorcycle: T140
Extra Motorcycle: Yamaha RD400
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAGAD View Post
Andy, the first generation T140E was a 'mix n match' crossover from the 'V' and has a unique wiring loom.
You can say that again! I have a 79 T140E matching numbers, but it has a 'V' head, mark 1 carbs, 'V' wiring loom, 2 wire alternator, 'V' switches and clock arrangements, and to top it off the rear caliper is mounted 'on top' of the disc! (I think that may have been added later, from a 'D')

We're all doomed!
gumpt1oo is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2009, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: '78 Triumph T140E
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 161
Other Motorcycle: '07 Ducati ST3S
Extra Motorcycle: '68 BSA B44B
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurie View Post
If you have a diagram I'd be really pleased to have a copy!

Also, I'd like to know which wire goes where on the headlight switch, as I can't seem to get it right and all my diagrams have different colous to the loom on my bike!
Try this diagram; http://pic60.picturetrail.com/VOL169.../373819706.jpg

It's for the "V" but worked for me. You can thank DAGAD. If you have the Haynes manual it's similar to the diagram on page 210. If you have problems reading the image PM me with your email address and I'll send it.

You can use the "lighting switch continuity" block or figure "A" to figure out your headlight switch.

As it is, Andy
'78 Triumph Bonneville T140E

Last edited by motersikelist; 09-10-2009 at 03:43 PM.
motersikelist is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2009, 05:34 AM
Pole Position
Main Motorcycle: 1965 TR6SR
Senior Member
 
rmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,356
Other Motorcycle: 2007 Scrambler
My 78 E is a hybrid with V parts as well from the factory, I'm finding out. The V wiring diagram was the closest in wire color coding, but when it comes to the wires inside the headlight pot, all bets are off.
rmak is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 02:28 PM
Grand Prix 125
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
T140v wiring loom T150

This is a little bit off topic but I thought I'd ask. I have a wiring loom for the 5 speed T150 and I need one for a T140v. From looking at the diagrams I have there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of difference. Do you know of any problems I might incur ?
Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by DAGAD View Post
Andy, the first generation T140E was a 'mix n match' crossover from the 'V' and has a unique wiring loom. These are available to buy from Triumph shops in England, probably also in the States.
The two wire alternator for the 'E' is single phase and the three wire is Three phase. The two wire is 120 watts and the 3 wire is 180 watts. Either will run a halogen head light just fine. The 180 watt comes into it's own with the electric start.
Roy.
Kthomas4 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 09:34 PM
Team Owner
Main Motorcycle: T120RT
Senior Member
 
KADUTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: in my house
Posts: 4,916
Other Motorcycle: T140V,T140D,T140E,T140J
well I reckon if you try hard enough it can be made to work. me I would go get the correct loom for your bike. buy the way you didnt say what year your T140 is or the T150 loom is.
KADUTZ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral Switch Wiring T140E sawtooth Classic, Vintage & Veteran 7 11-30-2007 09:13 AM
I Need Wiring Harness Help JEB Air Cooled Twins Talk 12 03-05-2007 10:01 AM
'78 T140E US wire harness motersikelist Classic, Vintage & Veteran 1 08-28-2006 12:13 PM
Wiring harness RacingGreen T3 Sport / Touring Forum 6 01-11-2006 09:50 AM
wiring harness quagmire Classic, Vintage & Veteran 2 10-08-2005 09:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome