Instrument panel/Speedo/Dash swap??? - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Street Triple Forum Owners and Enthusiasts of the new Triumph 675 Street Triple.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: Tiger 800
 
welshrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 6,786
Extra Motorcycle: 98 Triumph Adventurer
Instrument panel/Speedo/Dash swap???

I`ve just fitted a secondhand replacement instrument panel to a mate`s 09 Street Triple R. He has the older black dash surface, this is a newer one (but not the latest type) which is near identical but with a white dash surface, it was from a Daytona 675, I think.

It plugs in, lights up, shows mileage etc but the engine management light is flashing and the bike won`t turn over.

Plug the old instrument panel back in and the bike turns over and starts but the engine management light is still flashing.

1. Can anyone shed any light on why this is happening?

2. Is it possible to get the replacement panel to work, or does it have to go back on ebay?

3. How do we reset the engine management light on the original panel, is it three hot/cold cycles or use tune ECU?

Thanks.
__________________
She said, "You can`t take ANYTHING seriously, can you?" I just laughed.
welshrob is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2012, 03:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
JCP
Premium Member
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Striple!
 
JCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: St Albans UK
Posts: 581
Rob,
I've tried this and I'm afraid Daytona clocks aren't compatible with the Street. I bought a new set of 2010 'tona clocks (from a bike being prepared for racing) as an upgrade for my 08 Striple and had the same outcome. My vendor returned my money and sold me some Striple clocks.
The EML should reset after 3 cycles as the "fault" has been resolved.
I'm afraid my solution didn't involve finding the area of incompatibility but since a new set of correct clocks did work on a plug and play basis I'm confident it does not mean the clocks are paired with the ECU. I would suspect that they simply don't work with an ECU mapped for a Striple rather than a 'tona. If you are a Tune ECU expert you could try to see whether the ECU will accept a 'tona map and try again? I cannot say this would work and wouldn't be sure it is possible or even safe.
__________________
If it ain't broke, fiddle with it till it is!
I used to be young and foolish, I'm not young any more!
JCP is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2012, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: Tiger 800
 
welshrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 6,786
Extra Motorcycle: 98 Triumph Adventurer
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCP View Post
Rob,
I've tried this and I'm afraid Daytona clocks aren't compatible with the Street. I bought a new set of 2010 'tona clocks (from a bike being prepared for racing) as an upgrade for my 08 Striple and had the same outcome. My vendor returned my money and sold me some Striple clocks.

Thanks for that, I don`t think that is the issue, though. I did some more homework, I checked the part number, T2501505, and 2 wheel Pro`s list that as "TRIUMPH - INSTRUMENT ASSY" Street Triple 2009 and 2010.

I posted a similar thread in the maintenace section, the answer posted by MacBandit is that any new instrument assy fitted has to be unlocked by the dealer. I`m going to ring them monday to check on this.
__________________
She said, "You can`t take ANYTHING seriously, can you?" I just laughed.
welshrob is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2012, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: '12 Street Triple R
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 59
Other Motorcycle: 1980 Yamaha XS400 Special
Quote:
Originally Posted by welshrob View Post
I`ve just fitted a secondhand replacement instrument panel to a mate`s 09 Street Triple R. He has the older black dash surface, this is a newer one (but not the latest type) which is near identical but with a white dash surface, it was from a Daytona 675, I think.

It plugs in, lights up, shows mileage etc but the engine management light is flashing and the bike won`t turn over.

Plug the old instrument panel back in and the bike turns over and starts but the engine management light is still flashing.

1. Can anyone shed any light on why this is happening?

2. Is it possible to get the replacement panel to work, or does it have to go back on ebay?

3. How do we reset the engine management light on the original panel, is it three hot/cold cycles or use tune ECU?

Thanks.
The mileage I know is stored in the dash assembly so it won't be the bikes actual mileage. I had to get a new dash under warranty and my bike showed zero miles even though it already had 1500. Also I have read elsewhere that the Daytona clocks will not work with the striple. Even older clocks won't work on newer models supposedly.
rand4ll is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2012, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: Tiger 800
 
welshrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 6,786
Extra Motorcycle: 98 Triumph Adventurer
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCP View Post
Rob,
I've tried this and I'm afraid Daytona clocks aren't compatible with the Street. I bought a new set of 2010 'tona clocks (from a bike being prepared for racing) as an upgrade for my 08 Striple and had the same outcome. My vendor returned my money and sold me some Striple clocks.
.
Looks like you were right, or near enough. Even though they ARE Striple clocks, there must have been some changes which makes them non compatible.

I spoke to my dealer today, he says that they have replaced instruments before and they are "plug and play." He thinks that there is most likely a conflict between some of the sensors on the bike that interact with the instrument assy, because the instruments are from a slightly later model.

Next step is to plug TuneECU in and find out what fault code comes up. although I expect we will be putting this particular instrument assy back on ebay in the very near future!
__________________
She said, "You can`t take ANYTHING seriously, can you?" I just laughed.
welshrob is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 05:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: Tiger 800
 
welshrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 6,786
Extra Motorcycle: 98 Triumph Adventurer
OK, here is the final word on this. The instruments are matched with the the ECU, in batches of VIN numbers. No Sh*t. If a bike needs a new instrument panel, you order it from Triumph and supply your bike`s VIN number and they will supply one that matches. Secondhand? Forget it. The batches are really small, the instrument panel we tried to fit was from a 12/09 Street Triple, the bike we were fitting it to was an 08/09.

After consulting with ANOTHER dealer, he pulled out the VIN Batches. In order to work with the bike in question, the instruments HAD to be from a batch with VIN up to 416732 (last 6) and here`s the rub, if you end up with a secondhand instrument panel from a wrecked bike, there is NO way of telling which bike it will work with, without the donor bike`s VIN number.

Crafty play, by Triumph, methinks. They want you to pay $1650 for a new one, rather than get one from ebay for $250.
__________________
She said, "You can`t take ANYTHING seriously, can you?" I just laughed.
welshrob is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 07:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
SuperSport
Main Motorcycle: '10 ST3R
 
Orangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: S FL/USA
Posts: 970
T3 racing offers a full display digital dash for the 08-12 Street Triple for half the price and it has more functions so they must have a way to match up the dash to the bike and make it work ?



http://shop.t3-racing.co.uk/t3hm-digital-dash-800-p.asp

.
__________________
.

..My Bike..
Orangeman is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 08:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: Tiger 800
 
welshrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 6,786
Extra Motorcycle: 98 Triumph Adventurer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeman View Post
T3 racing offers a full display digital dash for the 08-12 Street Triple for half the price and it has more functions so they must have a way to match up the dash to the bike and make it work ?
I`m sure they do.

The original Triumph ones, however, are locked to the VIN batches. If you would like to buy the one I have, which is only showing 4000km`s by the way, and you think you can make it it work, it is yours for $200 shipped to the USA. Not bad for a $1650 item.

At the moment, it is the world`s dearest door stop!
__________________
She said, "You can`t take ANYTHING seriously, can you?" I just laughed.
welshrob is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument panel/speedo losing power sardinecan Daytona Deliberations 14 09-28-2012 02:35 PM
anyone else have digital dash/instrument cluster? Lee H Biker Hang-Out 1 07-09-2012 07:10 AM
dash or instrument panel lights stanley Daytona Deliberations 7 07-22-2008 01:23 PM
Silver instrument cups and dash panel? Kittlemeier Hinckley Classic Triples 9 10-30-2007 07:27 PM
The Instrument Panel bonnevillebilly Twins Technical Talk 28 09-07-2006 05:00 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.



Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0