bike starts and shuts off if i dont give throttle - Page 2 - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,534
correct - and stator unplugged.
If it fails (stator short to ground) don't worry about starting - pull cover and see the evidence
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2012, 05:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2003 955i speed triple
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seguin, Tx
Posts: 73
If I disconnect the fuel line on top, fuel should spit out when I prime? it does not. I think my fuel filter might be clogged? sound likely?
Brian.DeRemer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 05:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
SUPERcharged Moderator
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple GT
 
DieselGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: RMH, Alberta Canada
Posts: 7,607
Extra Motorcycle: 2012 SV650S
Pretty sure those are " dry break" connectors .
They are designed to not leak when " open "
DieselGeek is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 06:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,534
The OEM original was dry-break (valved) plastic; the recall replacements were aluminum and non-valved
If valved you do NOT want to run pump or you will possibly rupture or blow off the hose off the fuel filter


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 06:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2003 955i speed triple
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seguin, Tx
Posts: 73
I bought a new fuel filter from AutoZone. 3.99.

Gonna replace it since ii replaced my fuel pump anyways.




unplug stator connector(3 pin)
negative probe to ground.
positive on any pin.
test all 3 pins.

my multi meter does nothing.
get the same reading if I stick the probes into the sky.

what should it be saying?
Brian.DeRemer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 08:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,534
That is good - what you want


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 11:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2003 955i speed triple
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seguin, Tx
Posts: 73
Haha, well that's good. At least I know now. That's again for your help. I'll let you know the outcome tomorrow morning.

Sent from my HTC One X using Motorcycle.com Free App
Brian.DeRemer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 01:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2003 955i speed triple
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seguin, Tx
Posts: 73
At idle the reading was at ~20V and at 5k it was at ~70V. Those reading seem good.


I measured the volts when bike was running, and was only like mid 12s.

I measured the output from the voltage regulator, and it was about half a volt higher than the battery was reading. I assume this is why people cut the wires and run them to the battery.


In my mind, I know the stator is putting out, but the voltage is too low. So the voltage regulator is at fault?

Sent from my HTC One X using Motorcycle.com Free App
Brian.DeRemer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 01:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,534
You gave volts but it's not clear if you checked all three phases - please confirm - all three should be the same at any given rpm
Good chance stator is good especially since passes isolation test but confirm voltages
If stator is good then most likely your R/R is bad - do make sure you check out that first stator connector


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 03:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2003 955i speed triple
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seguin, Tx
Posts: 73
I checked all 3 phases

1-2
2-3
3-1

All had same readings at all rpms. Sorry I didn't mention that.





Sent from my HTC One X using Motorcycle.com Free App
Brian.DeRemer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bike shuts off going over bumps Garar Twins Technical Talk 3 09-08-2011 10:25 PM
It starts...it idles...i twist throttle and it dies. NYC888 Twins Technical Talk 7 07-15-2011 11:26 AM
They dont like my bike will_s Thunderbird Cruiser Chat 10 04-29-2011 01:02 AM
Engine starts choking with open throttle cocoselect Twins Technical Talk 7 07-12-2009 08:47 PM
dont you love other dedicated bike forums talikng about your bike bakwheeltango Sprint Forum 11 07-31-2007 08:03 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.



Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0