FuelBot - Fuel Level & MPG Gauge - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
FuelBot - Fuel Level & MPG Gauge

Here is a really neat fuel level indicator developed by a friend, initially for the Suzuki SV650 - I originally got it to install on the SV

However after discussing with the Developer, we both felt confident this would also work on the Triumph.
So it didn't even make it on to the Suzuki, I have installed on my own bike and helped provide the input for the slightly different programming variables, that will be included on Triumph models at source.

(Please note that I have no personal commercial interest in this product - just happy to help expand its horizons to be available for our Triumph community!)

Before you read too far, note that this is primarily aimed at the Sagem equipped bikes - it will also work with the 1050's, however no tach display (because of the CANBUS) and can only utilize the LCD display on those

Introducing the FuelBot by TeeRiver.

Let me start out by explaining the basic principle of how it works:
There is a sense-wire tapped onto the #1 Fuel Injector and it measures the duration of each injector pulse and sums it over the duration of a tankful.
The duration of pulses is directly proportional to the volume of gas delivered, so it is simple math to then have the microprocessor to convert that accumulated time to usable numbers.
It even calibrates for subtle differences between each individual bike - after the first tank, read off pump what it took to fill;
punch that into the unit and the subsequent usage will be re-calibrated to be (to quote the lovely Mona-Lisa Vito from My Cousin Vinnie) dead-balls-accurate.

It has two display options:
on the OEM Tachometer (it toggles between Tach & Fuel functions with the selector switch)
on an optional LCD display (which also includes mpg, miles till empty info etc also)

That is the abridged version, more detail below.

Link to original thread - http://www.svrider.com/forum/showthread.php?t=161134

Here is the video from that thread - it is exactly same on the Triumph, just a different tach of course. But operationally identical.



FuelBot Unit


(^^ Note that on the Triumph the Speedo Sender connectors are different)

FuelBot Harness






(Note that mine is showing just under 100% - I literally just filled and came straight from gas station (you can see miles indicated on the FuelBot is only 1.38)
Mode 2 is the simplest display mode for the Tach - reads just like a standard fuel gauge - 10 is 100%, etc. It will drop linearly as you use fuel - except is MUCH more accurate than a standard resistive float sensor gauge.
And you can toggle it between the standard Tach Mode or FuelBot Mode as often as you like.

But before you visit the linked reference thread (which I encourage you to do), here is the gist:
1) Requires no modification to Fuel Tank or sensor - works whether you have Thermistor or Float/Resistive sensor
2) Is a programmed MicroProcessor which calculates the volume of Fuel used by counting the accumulative duration of the Fuel Injector Pulses.
3) Displays on the Tach Instrument (which is now dual-mode for std Tach and Fuel Indication), so the optional LCD display is not necessary
4) Incredibly simple install - almost plug n play (couple of simple connections for Injector and Tach signal)

The only differences from the SV kit are
1) Different type of Speedo Drive connectors
2) Slightly different programming
3) Addition of one resistor to enable the Tach to work normally

(all of these changes will be done at source by TeeRiver if you require a kit)

#2 I have been the guinea pig for - there is obviously different calibration factor between the Triumph and the Suzuki, most notably because of the extra cylinder! And different Injector flow rates.
Then the tank volume is a little different, which has no impact on fuel used, but does give a different number for fuel volume left. These changes are being reprogrammed to be correct 'out of the box' for Triumph application.

But it is very easy to calibrate on your first re-fill, to get amazingly accurate level - After my initial tank use, I refilled the tank, input the volume to fill (reading off the pump) and re-calibrated. (Very simple process)
I then did some more miles and refilled - the FuelBot indicated that I had used 1.955 US Gallons - I filled to the neck with 1.962 Gallons - that is within 1 oz!!!!!!! (typical spec is within 2% which itself is awesome)
Specifically, mine was initially 'calibrated' for the Suzuki, so during that initial tankful, it was inaccurate as to volume used - however it still accumulated the required data to be able to calibrate almost any FI fuel system
1) Install, Fill Tank and, before leaving gas station, reset to 'Full'
2) Ride, consume majority of tank
3) Fill and note the Fuel Volume on the Pump
4) Enter calibrate mode and input the Fuel Volume used to fill
5) The system is now calibrated to match the accumulated duration of injector pulses from the previous reset to the actual fuel volume used.
6) That new calibration factor will remain in memory going forward, no need to calibrate again at future fills

Note that because of the information I have established, Triumph units will come quite accurate 'out of the box' although can still be finely honed by the above process.

For my initial test installation, all I had to do was swap the Speedo Drive Connectors, then connect the one wire to the Injector Drive with the supplied PosiTap, and connect up the Tach drive*
* For this connection, you can actually connect directly into the Instrument connector plug, in the same way as shown on TeeRiver's video; however I actually cut the wire to the tach input (red) and spliced the wires directly.

The kit comes with a neat 'input' control switch, which mounts to the clutch perch bracket, to select different modes. You can also (instead) use one of the OEM switches if you don't want to mount the supplied select switch (headlight flasher or starter switch) My original thought was I wasn't keen on the additional switch, but it mounts up so well and seamlessly that I don't mind it at all.



Here are some notes re model application: Will work with any of the FI triples with some caveats;
1) Ideally suited for 02+ Sagem equipped bikes - will display on both the Tach and the optional LCD if that is utilized; will report all data including miles till empty, as well as fuel level
2) Can also be used on the mechanical speedo bikes - however since there is no electronic speed indicator, it will only report fuel level (% tank, gals used, gals left); it would not be difficult to add a speed sender
(as shown in this mod - http://www.triumphrat.net/speed-trip...rly-model.html) to add the additional functionality.
3) It will not display on the 1050's Tach, because this is CANBUS system - however the LCD display could be used I believe*
*This system has not been tested - theoretical, but don't see any potential issues)

As I type I realize that in UK galls are different size - however I'm confident that TeeRiver would provide a programmed version to accommodate that (simple scaling operation on the program), as well as Metric Option for those on the Continent (km & litres)

For most practical purposes, although there is much more data displayed on the LCD, for basic Fuel Level operation, simply toggling between Mode1 (normal Tach display) and Mode2 (Fuel Level %) is adequate for typical requirements. That is as simple as 1 or 2 presses on the selector to change modes. That makes for very clean install with no requirement to mount the LCD.

Note that for anyone who does want the LCD, you will need to come up with your own enclosure for that.

This is a REALLY nice development - I can heartily recommend it. TeeRiver can supply you complete plugnplay kit (including the Triumph specific changes) or just the Programmed Processor if you want to build it yourself.
If you want to get in touch with him, PM me and I will give you his e-mail address
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
SUPERcharged Moderator
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple GT
 
DieselGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: RMH, Alberta Canada
Posts: 7,708
Extra Motorcycle: 2012 SV650S
Interesting .

I would require a real bullet proof ( or at least hail / monsoon proof ) enclosure for the LCD ...

Though now that I think of it my tach drive stripped and has the needle is all over the place , random. I could gut the tach and secure the LCD inside my cluster ...

What are the dimentions on that screen ?

And PM for info please .
DieselGeek is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2012, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
The exterior dimensions of the pcb are 80mm x 36mm
The actual display bezel is about 5mm or so less all way round (so ~ 70 x 26)

http://www.svrider.com/forum/showpos...&postcount=135



Incidentally that image shows is in Mode 3 - is getting 66.7 average mpg for this tank which has 3.198 galls left in tank - or 71% full - and has gone 86.95 miles

Note that there are some enclosure display options shown in the original thread - like this one - http://www.svrider.com/forum/showpos...&postcount=128

http://www.polycase.com/sl-30p



To be honest, the LCD is kinda fun to play with (cheap enough to have it) but is difficult to integrate nicely onto a naked bike IMO
On both my Triumph and Suzuki installs, it will most likely just utilize the tach display - unfortunately not an option on the 1050 Triumphs though, which will REQUIRE the LCD as the only display means.
(although an ancillary mini-tach could also be used )
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2012, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
Kinda surprised there hasn't been more interest in this- it's been extremely popular on the SV site, where it was launched. So pardon the 'bump' to give it some more visibility.
Granted a lot of the 1050 members won't get the Tach display operation, only the LCD will function (due to the CANBUS Tach) - however still lots of viability for the 955 guys and the 1050's who would be satisfied with the LCD
Virtually plug n play, three simple wires to connect (or just the one on a 1050)

I'll have to shoot a video so it can be seen operating on the Triumph.
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2012, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
Finally got around to making a video that shows it functioning on an actual Triumph!!


Also hopefully shows how simple it is to connect.
On that note, here is a pic of the Positap connection onto the Fuel Injector drive signal for Injector #1. I actually connected that without even removing the tank, just reached through left side of frame opening.



I should add a footnote that the Speed Sender connectors (seen in the video) on my bike are actually not the Triumph ones - I have a lot of similar connectors going on with my key-less ignition system and just for differentiation used the Suzuki ones (Sumitomo HM)
If you order unit from TeeRiver, it will come with the correct Sumitomo MT connectors for the Triumph Speed Sender.

DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
Minitwins
Main Motorcycle: Daytona 955i
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colchester
Posts: 15
So, how much is this kit?
EssexSteve is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
Prices are in the original SVRider thread (link in opening post in this thread)
But is $110 for FuelBot & adapter harness, $35 for the optional LCD (this does not include an enclosure) - plus mail
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
Supersport 600
Main Motorcycle: '04 Spdtrippled Tona
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach
Posts: 158
Wow impressive mod, going to jump on one of these, my only question is when the fuel is low for the non lcd version does the low fuel light still come on?
Ironcobra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,916
It will if the Sender is still connected and operational - that end of things completely independent of the FuelBot, which does not use the OEM sender/system in any way.
DEcosse is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 03:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
SuperStock
Main Motorcycle: 2006 Speedy
 
maxorbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sooke,BC,Canada
Posts: 217
Other Motorcycle: none
Very well done ! Using the tacho as a fule/mileage gauge is good thinking ! The price is good IMO. It looks easy to install. Personally I'd prefer it with the display unit rather than using the tacho. Plus it's american made. Maybe bike companies such as Triumph could use it on their bikes. Make sure to patent it !

Would it be useful to fabricate a unit with only the display and not onb the taco?

I may consider this next riding season.

Thanks for letting us know about this.
__________________
** returned home after a successful mission in Mexico
Unemployed for the rest of my life
My Garage http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/577/all3a.jpg/
maxorbit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuel level gauge showing random fuel levels DesmoBanana Sprint Forum 6 06-07-2011 08:00 AM
fork oil level gauge. Askari Twins Technical Talk 4 07-05-2010 08:51 PM
Fuel Gauge Low Fuel Light problem any ideas ? CYNCRZR Sprint Forum 4 06-09-2007 11:36 PM
Fuel Gauge OK, Low-Fuel light intermittent andy-D Tiger Chat 3 11-16-2006 04:46 PM
Float level / Fuel Level for 1998 Trophy 900? CharlestonRider Trophy 8 06-04-2005 04:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.