New Instrument Cluster Mod - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 09 Speedy
 
DFUSEME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 762
New Instrument Cluster Mod

First off big thanks to Cometman! With out him I would have never even conceived of doing this! After months of looking I finally found and scored a good deal on a new gauge cluster. It was the correct part number off just the right bike! Like cometman said it is truely a plug and play type deal.

It is big time sleeker than the old unit. The flashing blue shift LED's are seriously OFF THE HOOK!!! Me and the wifey rode to a meet up tonight and this thing is amazing at night!!! I could barely keep my eyes on the road!

Here are a few pics:

__________________
Keep the rubber side down!!!
DFUSEME is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2012, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
SuperSport
Main Motorcycle: 2007 Speed Triple
 
Lord Flashheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,373
Other Motorcycle: 2006 Speed Triple
<green> Solid work, sir.
Lord Flashheart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 02:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFUSEME View Post
First off big thanks to Cometman! With out him I would have never even conceived of doing this!
+1.

My 2009 bike with the same gauges as you and CometMan used, topped off with a 2011+ tacho face (please ignore the ghetto style temporary monitoring rig in the foreground).

Martin_R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 06:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFUSEME View Post
I love your all black guage face!!! What's the part # on that?
Let's answer here, to keep the discussion with the pic.

No part number for tacho face, you will have to hunt eBay/breakers for a broken gauge with tacho face intact. Or have a printing shop do you a custom printout. But I do not know if a gauge shop can replicate the sandwich design & see-through illumination? Most likely you would lose that feature if you just glue a custom print on top of OEM.

Anyway, the fascias and tacho face assys of the similar shape 1050/675 gauges seem to interchange directly. Exact same shape on the clear plastic base (under the face print that tunnels light from the circuitboard LEDs). Some faces just miss a few LED holes.

Last edited by Martin_R; 10-05-2012 at 07:03 AM.
Martin_R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 08 Speed Triple
 
jimmyheadgear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 436
Martin

I can't find a fascia for mine.

Triumph says there are no part numbers for just the fascia, I would need to buy the whole cluster. They say this is the case with the Street as well as the Speed.

Does this sound right?
jimmyheadgear is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,001
Yes, unfortunately that seems to be what I am hearing too. The separate spare part fascia is available only for older gauge shape.

Hunting breakers for a dead gauge set with OK 675/1050 fascia seems to be the only option.

I don't know why Triumph chose to go this way on 2011+ gauge shape. The fascia is an easily detachable part, so why not offer this as a spare part?
Martin_R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 08:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
SuperStock
Main Motorcycle: 2010 Speed Triple
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyheadgear View Post
Martin

I can't find a fascia for mine.

Triumph says there are no part numbers for just the fascia, I would need to buy the whole cluster. They say this is the case with the Street as well as the Speed.

Does this sound right?
daytona 675r/street triple fascia part number T2501502

this part doesnt exist?

thanks guys it looks great on your triples glad you all got 1, too bad the top speed function is gone in these clusters...miss that one, but the looks compensate for that

jimmy i will continue whit my eyes open on ebay since i search every day

i spotted some months ago in a italian forum a damaged eletronics 2011 cluster but whit the fascia intact, i will try to find the sale thread and see if it was sold.

Last edited by CometMan; 10-05-2012 at 08:53 AM.
CometMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 08:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 08 Speed Triple
 
jimmyheadgear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by CometMan View Post
daytona 675r/street triple fascia part number T2501502

this part doesnt exist?

thanks guys it looks great on your triples glad you all got 1, too bad the top speed function is gone in these clusters...miss that one, but the looks compensate for that
That's the 3 button.

Last edited by jimmyheadgear; 10-05-2012 at 08:52 AM.
jimmyheadgear is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: 08 Speed Triple
 
jimmyheadgear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 436
Thanks for the help, Comet!!
jimmyheadgear is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 09:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Premium Member
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Matte Blk 09 S3
 
09 Triple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 555
I've been thinking about this mod for awhile now; since I saw the newer "old bikes" that switched over to them
My question though is DFUSEME is that the last generation's tachometer/cluster? Is that the "plug n play" magic?
That would mean, to me, the current gen's tachs are not plug n play. Yes?
And MartinR is that a last gen tach but with only the face of the tach updated to 11? I understand that right? How difficult is that last part of the swap? Does the cover/weather sealing open easily? Or is it a heat and re-glue of operation?
Thanks all in advance.
09 Triple is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Instrument Cluster rcmaddox Hinckley Classic Triples 7 04-20-2012 07:13 PM
Instrument Cluster Dim roygrif T3 Sport / Touring Forum 9 07-10-2009 12:06 AM
Looking for instrument cluster ezranz Daytona675 Forum 4 03-17-2008 09:58 AM
instrument cluster joejay70 Sprint Forum 0 06-30-2007 09:57 PM
Instrument Cluster OG-MOON Speed Triple Forum 0 06-09-2006 06:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.