Compufire 55402 regulator install information - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 2012 Tiger Explorer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 38
Compufire 55402 regulator install information

I have had some stator problems in the past and going off of the good thread that DEcosse put out, not only did I need to put a new stator in, I needed to put a new regulator in. I went with the Compufire 55402 regulator. I figure I would pass on what I know and see about giving back to the community.

The first thing to know is as far as of this post (Sept, 5th, 2010). No one seemed to have the regulator so I needed to get it from the factory itself. I did ask the sales person why no one seemed to have it. He told me that it is going to eventually be available through all of the normal retail channels, it is just taking a while. The part itself is not new, it is just new having it as a separate component. In the past it was always available as part of a kit.
So bottom line, check Dennis Kirk, if it says available soon, just call the compufire factory and get it directly from them.

Here is a picture of the new regulator next to the original.



As you can see the Compufire is a little smaller than the original, it is a little higher but there is plenty of vertical room so that is not an issue. As luck would have it, the holes even matched up pretty close. I had enough slop in the mounting holes on the bike that no modification was necessary. Here is a picture of the new regulator on top of the old one. The pic isn't the best but the idea is conveyed.



The Compufire comes with weather pack connections for the stator and an empty female weather pack connection.



The nice part with this is you can go down to your local NAPA store and get the missing coponents. They should give you 3 male connectors. (Male metal pieces go in the female plastic part). They should give you something that looks like this.



The other nice thing is the power connection comes with a female spade, but also an inline fuse connection so the spade can plug into it and then the other end of the inline fuse has a connection to go on the bolt on the battery. It gives a little more flexibility that way. The 40 amp fuse is because the regulator is a 40 amp model.



I put the spade into the fuse and hooked it directly to the battery. The original regulator connection has 7 wires coming out of it and the Compufire has 5. 3 of the wires are for the stator and the other ones are ground and power. The original regulator has 2 power wires and 2 ground wires. If you trace the wires you will find they merge and are in the midway between the battery and the rest of the electronics.

What happens is if you don't use the 4 prong connector and just hook the power and ground to the battery is you have a 40 amp fuse from the regulator to the battery and from the battery to the other electronics you have a 30 amp fuse. (It's fuse 11 in the fuse box.) Leaving the 4 prong unconnected doesn't have any effect because there is still the normal wire that goes from the battery to the fuse box. I would have a pic but didn't want to get in trouble taking a pic of the service manual. The short version is think of a 3 way connection, one goes to the battery, one to the fuse box and one to the original regulator. Having the regulator not connected doesn't bother the battery and fuse box. If this isn't clear feel free to add a question to the post.

Have fun adding a Compufire 55402 series regulator to your machine.
vsteel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2010, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 2012 Tiger Explorer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 38
For those looking for the Compufire information thier website is:

http://www.compufire.com/

and their phone number is:

Toll Free: (888) 467-7953
vsteel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2010, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Triumph Speed Triple 2006
 
rnexussix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE. FL
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsteel View Post
For those looking for the Compufire information thier website is:

http://www.compufire.com/

and their phone number is:

Toll Free: (888) 467-7953
Looks like they manufacture stators for HD and package it together with their R/R. Perhaps they should add Stator + R/R package for S3 & Daytona.

Vsteel, thank you for the write up. What are the voltages you are getting on the battery during idle and higher RPM ?
rnexussix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2010, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 2012 Tiger Explorer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 38
That would be great if they bundled a stator and regulator. I don't know if it would happen, but it wouldn't be hard for someone to come up with some kind of package deal for people.

I measured voltage at 14.3 no matter what RPM. When you first fire it up it will take about 5 seconds for it to come up to 14.3 but after that it is rock solid.
vsteel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2010, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 250
Main Motorcycle: 2007 Speed Triple
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 76
Other Motorcycle: 2007 Rocket 3
Extra Motorcycle: 2004 Suzuki Hayabusa
Interesting vsteel......Let us know how it works after your test/tune stage......I just completed the MOSFIT upgrade and am very happy.......Keep us posted......Cheers.
redline07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2010, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsteel View Post
That would be great if they bundled a stator and regulator.....
Why would you need to replace the stator as well if you are installing a series Regulator?
(unless it is actually bad)
DEcosse is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2010, 10:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Triumph Speed Triple 2006
 
rnexussix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE. FL
Posts: 663
DEcosse,
Would you happen to know how does the electrical current induction happens in the S3's stator i.e. with a permanent magnets, or external coils. (I had a chat - a sanity check really, with electrical engineer re. sink vs. series R/R's).
rnexussix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 01:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Site Supporter
Nova
Main Motorcycle: Custom 955 Speed-Tona
 
DEcosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 16,907
Permanent magnet - the rotor.
DEcosse is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: 2012 Tiger Explorer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEcosse View Post
Why would you need to replace the stator as well if you are installing a series Regulator?
(unless it is actually bad)
I was one of those who would have taken advantage of a package deal. After burning out the second stator on my motorcycle I replaced it as well as the regulator to try and stop the constant stator failures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline07
Interesting vsteel......Let us know how it works after your test/tune stage......I just completed the MOSFIT upgrade and am very happy.......Keep us posted......Cheers.
So far ~700 miles and it is working great.
vsteel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2010, 02:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: Triumph Speed Triple 2006
 
rnexussix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE. FL
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsteel View Post
I was one of those who would have taken advantage of a package deal. After burning out the second stator on my motorcycle I replaced it as well as the regulator to try and stop the constant stator failures.
So far ~700 miles and it is working great.
Vsteel, what was the mileage between the two burned out stators ?
rnexussix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Regulator Rectifier Install WardenRoss Maintenance Tips and Tricks for your Sprint 68 12-21-2012 03:34 PM
Information Please Skyblue62 Twins Technical Talk 8 08-12-2010 03:23 AM
FH012AA Rectifier/Regulator Install NorthernThrux Twins Technical Talk 8 08-05-2010 04:33 PM
Help --- I need some information dick mitchell Twins Technical Talk 7 08-07-2009 10:47 PM
Looking for some information on 82 Executives SprintST Classic, Vintage & Veteran 3 11-17-2007 10:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.