new kellerman signals - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Speed Triple Forum Rants and ravings about the best naked triple on the planet!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Grand Prix 500
Main Motorcycle: 07 spdtrple
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: northeast
Posts: 113
Other Motorcycle: 04 duc 999r
new kellerman signals

07 s3
am in process of converting to the kellerman 1000 mini halogen turn signals... a little bit of a pain in the butt due to finding out half way through that they need load resistors... but a question... due to the size of the resistors... am trying to hide them best a possible on the underside above the rear tire... pretty much the same area as the wiring... thinking of using an adhesive type glue... to fasten on the plastic surface... am aware that the resistor generates some heat... how much heat are we talking about?
spdtrplmarcus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:04 AM
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,028
Replace signal relay with an electronic LED friendly one. Resistors are only needed with original relay which is ment for filament bulbs.
Martin_R is online now  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Grand Prix 500
Main Motorcycle: 07 spdtrple
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: northeast
Posts: 113
Other Motorcycle: 04 duc 999r
these are halogen... not led
spdtrplmarcus is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:11 AM
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,028
Electronic relay should still fix the issue. Normal relay needs resistance in order to fire. Electronic relay blinks away no matter what the resistance on the wires is.

Last edited by Martin_R; 04-24-2009 at 10:13 AM.
Martin_R is online now  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Grand Prix 500
Main Motorcycle: 07 spdtrple
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: northeast
Posts: 113
Other Motorcycle: 04 duc 999r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_R View Post
Replace signal relay with an electronic LED friendly one. Resistors are only needed with original relay which is ment for filament bulbs.
am I correct that the original relay (factory) is for filament type bulbs?
spdtrplmarcus is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:26 AM
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,028
Yes. It needs the certain resistance to work.

No harm in trying, unless the Kellermann instructions specificly call for the resistors to be in place. Eg. the Kellermanns burn too bright & hot without them.

Disclaimer: I am no electrician.

Last edited by Martin_R; 04-24-2009 at 10:32 AM.
Martin_R is online now  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Grand Prix 500
Main Motorcycle: 07 spdtrple
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: northeast
Posts: 113
Other Motorcycle: 04 duc 999r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_R View Post
Yes. It needs the certain resistance to work.

No harm in trying, unless the Kellermann instructions specificly call for the resistors to be in place. Eg. the Kellermanns burn too bright & hot without them.

Disclaimer: I am no electrician.
considering that kellerman info is typically in german... leaves this ignorant english/espanol speaking norte americano in the dark
spdtrplmarcus is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 10:32 AM
Lifetime Premium
Site Supporter
Moto Grand Prix
Main Motorcycle: Speed3 -09
 
Martin_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,028
These guys seem to recommend electronic relay with the Kellermanns, so it should work OK:

http://www.twinmotorcycles.nl/websho...&cid=204&s=&a=
Martin_R is online now  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: '07 Speed Triple
 
Bohdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA / USA
Posts: 657
Other Motorcycle: '10 Ducati Streetfighter
Extra Motorcycle: '01 SV650
Send a message via Skype™ to Bohdan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_R View Post
Electronic relay should still fix the issue. Normal relay needs resistance in order to fire. Electronic relay blinks away no matter what the resistance on the wires is.
Slight correction: standard relay does not require resistance to flash normally, it requires current through bulb to be high enough to indicate good bulb. Because LEDs have very low current requirement, it senses this and flashes fast to signal burned bulb. To remedy this you need to add another electric path to increase current through relay - low value resistor parallel to LED bulb, so more current flows through it then through lamp itself.
These halogen bulbs also are rated for only 0.5A (standard bulb is more like 2A), so need parallel resistor to draw more current and fool relay. You can use electronic flasher like for LEDs - it blinks at constant rate regardless of current flowing through it.
Bohdan is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Grand Prix 500
Main Motorcycle: 07 spdtrple
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: northeast
Posts: 113
Other Motorcycle: 04 duc 999r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bohdan View Post
Slight correction: standard relay does not require resistance to flash normally, it requires current through bulb to be high enough to indicate good bulb. Because LEDs have very low current requirement, it senses this and flashes fast to signal burned bulb. To remedy this you need to add another electric path to increase current through relay - low value resistor parallel to LED bulb, so more current flows through it then through lamp itself.
These halogen bulbs also are rated for only 0.5A (standard bulb is more like 2A), so need parallel resistor to draw more current and fool relay. You can use electronic flasher like for LEDs - it blinks at constant rate regardless of current flowing through it.
thanks... finished the job... lot of soder and tape... but it works great
spdtrplmarcus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting turn signals into running lights/turn signals toller Hinckley Classic Triples 13 05-31-2010 01:33 PM
kellerman LED turn signal mep7851 Air Cooled Twins Technical Talk 1 10-14-2008 09:19 AM
Kellerman turn signals? RocketRay The Rocket Science Forum 10 08-01-2006 06:07 PM
Help w/Signals Mancha Club Cafe' 10 05-12-2006 02:46 PM
Kellerman Bar end Signals iscarian Speed Triple Forum 11 10-24-2005 11:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome