Is this YOUR bike for sale? Beware Scammers! - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
New Bonneville
» Main Menu

Discussion Forums
 » Twins
 » Tiger
 » General
 » RAT

Features
 » Blogs

Motorcycle.com Links

Contribute
 » Photo

Motorcycle Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors

Biker Hang-Out The Biker Cafe' at the end of the Universe. C'mon in, we talk everything about motorcycles on Earth and beyond.


Sponsored by: Motorcycle Accessory Discount Superstore

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2010, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Grand Prix 125
Favourite Bike: Sprint ST of Course :)
 
kyloe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dartmoor, UK
Posts: 22
Other Motorcycle: BWM 650
Exclamation Is this YOUR bike for sale? Beware Scammers!

Did you know your bike could be up for sale?

I recently searched several sites and found some cracking bikes at unbelievable prices - all images and detailss taken from other sites/eBay etc then offered out again by scammers to unsuspecting punters.

Example - I am currently being offered a Triumph Sprint for half its real value, yet it's in mint condition! Registration YN05 CCO

If this is your bike, get in touch - I've got the scammer exchanging emails with me daily. How do I know it's a scam? Well it just so happens that like many of these transactions, the scammer is stuck abroad or going abroad and needs you to prove your genuine by making a transfer with western union/coinstar/moneygra etc. If they can't proved the VIN and dodge simple questions beware!

Attached pics are of the one I'm currently being offered, which was previously on eBay. Tip - download pics, right click and look at photo properties!! This will show when the pic was taken, and if copied from eBay it will say so as it's marked by eBay's uploading software.

Regards
Kyloe
Attached Thumbnails
Is this YOUR bike for sale? Beware Scammers!-2.jpg   Is this YOUR bike for sale? Beware Scammers!-5.jpg  
__________________
The road is long... But not for bikers ;)
kyloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2010, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
Grand Prix 125
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 23
Thanks for the tip Kyloe...

I am looking at a 2000 Sprint (blue) on ebay ths minute... and he mentions he is overseas.

I will be careful. Thanks for the tip on seeing the pics properties. I did not know I could check that.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no TRY...

-Master Yoda
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
Super Sidecars
Favourite Bike: 2003 Bonnie
 
PatrickO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 57
I have recently sold a bike and I got 3 or 4 scammers trying to rip me off. Luckily I had read about these scams and was prewarned.

Things to warn you it's scammer :

Can't give you a landline phone number.
Won't talk on the phone
Won't give you an address
Offers to pay more than the bike is worth.
Says he will pay for shipping without seeing the bike.

Finally remember "If it sounds too good to be true then it probably is..."
PatrickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Premium Member
Site Supporter
Formula Extreme
Favourite Bike: 2007 Bonneville T100
 
rwantin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 718
Other Motorcycle: Soon.
Extra Motorcycle: 73 TR6 (okay, it's a car)
It's unfortunate, but they're out there, to be sure.

Recently, I've had my eye on a couple of bikes, that just both happened to be Caspian Blue 955 Daytona's. A couple of months ago one appeared in the Cycle Trader, allegedly in Santa Monica - way underpriced but I inquired anyway. He told me he was on a business trip to Denmark. Why would someone run an ad and then leave the very next day? He said he'd stay in touch. The ad disappeared. So did his email.

This past weekend, another one on Ebay up in Gardena. I noted the seller had zero feedback and had a number of bikes listed. I asked if he was a dealer or worked for one, and about the bike. He replied it was privately owned, and that the registration was current in his name. He went out of his way not to email me through Ebay messaging. His name was "Norbert." The auction disappeared - in fact, all of his bikes did.

Be careful out there. If it smells, there's probably a reason.
__________________
Yes, they are still making them.

-Robert
rwantin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
Grand Prix 125
Favourite Bike: Sprint ST of Course :)
 
kyloe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dartmoor, UK
Posts: 22
Other Motorcycle: BWM 650
Just to update... I'm still playing games with my scammer. Asked to see a photo of him with a form of ID and suggested he took a pic holding up his passport lol. What I got back was a copy of a fake UK driving licence - I should know, I have one ha!

Good of him to try though

Just goes to show what lengths they are prepared to go to though.
__________________
The road is long... But not for bikers ;)
kyloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spammers and Scammers Tbirdnz Site Happenings and Discussions 5 09-02-2009 05:31 PM
Beware of bike covers !!! onelifeliveit Street Triple Forum 2 08-20-2008 08:57 PM
Bike For Sale...(bye bye) Poddy Sprint Forum 7 02-21-2008 01:12 PM
My Bike 4-SALE bubble Speed Triple Forum 4 02-26-2007 11:56 PM
Bike for sale lincolndog Speed Triple Forum 8 11-30-2006 07:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.



Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Kawasaki Forum Ducati Forum Harley Davidson Yamaha R1 BMW S1000RR Forum
Vulcan Forums Ducati Monster V-Rod Forum Yamaha R6 Kawasaki Z1000
Kawasaki ZX Forum Honda 600RR Harley Forum YZF-R6 Forum Sportbike Forum
Kawasaki ZX-10R Honda 1000RR Suzuki SV Yamaha FZ8 Can Am Spyder
Kawasaki KLR 650 Honda RC51 Suzuki V-Strom Star Motorcycles Aprilia Forum
Kawasaki Versys Honda Fury Suzuki GSXR Triumph Forum KTM Forum
Kawasaki EX-500 Honda Goldwing GSX-R Forum Triumph 675 Victory Forums

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2