Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

Tricks to Triumph timing?

15K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  GrandPaulZ 
#1 ·
Hi,
I have a 1971 T120 Tiger and thought I'd check the timing as it had a slight ping under load. I studied the ignition timing instructions in the workshop manual and established the timing is checked at 2000 rpm if you are doing it dynamically. So here's the dilema. How did the original Triumph mechanics do it when you needed one hand and a set of eyes to hold the throttle and keep the engine at 2000 rpm, another set of hands & eyes to point the timing light at the timing marks on the L/H side of the engine and yet another set of hands and eyes to adjust the timing at the points plate on the R/H side of the engine. I managed to do the job with my son helping me but would be very interested to find out what other owners do in this situation?
Cheers,
John Quinnell
:???: :hammer:

[ This message was edited by: johnquinnell on 2005-10-09 21:39 ]

#2 ·
John,
Yep - interesting dilemma, isn't it. Helps to have a few mates around, and a slab of Resche's.

Here's how I do it. Take off the points cover, and check the gaps. Start and warm the engine. . Take off the inspection cover over the alternator rotor (timing mark). Connect timing light. Steering all the way to the right. Squatting on the ground on LHS, aim timing light and wind up the throttle. The mechanical advance stops advancing the timing about 2500 revs, and it's quite noticable - increase throttle for no futher increase in timing advance. Stop engine, adjust points, check again. Repeat until correct, and for other cylinder if running a twin.

#3 ·