Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

New member looking for opinions on Thruxton Fender Elimination.

12K views 46 replies 20 participants last post by  Enzo's Dad 
#1 ·
Greetings to all the members. I am new to the Thruxton, but not new to cafe racers. I have restored two 70's era CB550's and turned them into cafe's. I have pictures on my profile but have no clue how to post them to a thread. I realized one day that instead of making my bike look like a Thruxton, I would just buy one.

I bought the bike two weeks ago and had Dominator Tourings installed by the dealer, at the same time they re-mapped and installed the British Customs Air Injection removal. ( i wonder if these parts will argue about who is better BC or TPUSA, I have done alot of reading here.)

Here is my delima. I have no doubt the Thruxton looks better without a rear fender, However does anyone regret removing it. I removed the rear fender on my Hondas, but always wished I had a bobbed fender back there. I ride my Bikes to work as much as possible. Without a rear fender when I rode in wet weather I was killing the back of my jackets.
I also had issues with turnsignals, most of the fender elimination kits are sold with cheap EMGO plastic turn signals. In my expereience its only a matter of time before before they stop working.

So Is it worth it?, or if you have done it would you do it again.

See less See more
#43 ·
I installed the maund fek on my Thruxton earlier this week. Very high quality kit. James was great to work with. He also must have mailed it about 2.5 seconds after I placed my order. US postal service had it in my hands 36 hours later (California to Texas, I was pleasantly surprised).

#45 ·