» Insurance
» Sponsors
Triumph DetroitSportbikeTrackGearCommonwealth MotorcyclesMotorcycle.comAdvanstarMotorcycleShowsSoupy's Performance
» Sponsors

Motorcycle.com Classifieds!
Please Visit our Site Sponsors Page

View Single Post
Old 01-08-2009   #4 (permalink)
Tbirdnz
Administrator
Site Supporter
SOTP Vintage Series
 
Tbirdnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 7,658
It would appear to be a classic forum scam, that site doesn't appear to police it's own rules, which is a 60 day membership before advertising and it appears to allow advertising in the chat forums. The apparent scammer joined just a few days before posting and bumped up 80 posts in record time.

There's 10 pages on that link, concisely a guy states he's breaking up an R6 and pushes parts for sale on a thread, as he states, to give members a chance before he advertises on e-bay.

Several members appear to have fallen for the scam.

On this site we have a 30 day 50 post membership rule which we enforce by the sites own software, and we don't allow members advertising in the forums. Even so we are not bullet proof so be very aware before parting with your money and use legitimate transfer safeguards such as PayPal.


--------------
Ride on !

Last edited by Tbirdnz : 01-08-2009 at 08:24 PM. Reason: errr, we amended the qualifying period !
Tbirdnz is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.